Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful spot

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Beautiful surroundings
Cons: See my review
I gave the hotel several 3s. And in other circumstances, I might have given all 3s, but it's Volcan and you shouldn't (and I didn't) expect the Ritz Carlton. It got several 3s because (a) there were a lot of bugs and ants in the room (b) there was a power outage during a rainstorm and the staff/hotel was strangely unprepared for what I would think is a regular event in the rainy season, and (c) staff made no attempt to compensate for (b), e.g. comp a drink at the bar. If you go to Volcan, this is a beautiful spot to lay your head. And, you need to know Espanol!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

It was a charming experience, full of contact with

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Very comfortable facilities, nice location next to the river, very good food.... I am very happy with my experience.
5 out of 5
by GINA from Miami Beach

Great place for a family reunion!

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
A fantastic place to relax and connect with nature. Spacious and clean suites, very friendly and helpful staff (Noel the waiter is excellent), fresh and authentic food at the resort restaurant. We had a great time!
5 out of 5
by Benson from Seattle

Beautiful secluded getaway, awesome staff

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
This is a beautiful property sits on the side of Volcán Baru. The garden and setting is beautiful, facilities and amenities are well maintained. Food in the restaurant is good and well priced. Staff is friendly and helpful. The first great help was sending a vehicle to come pick us up after a taxi left us at the wrong hotel. The second instance where the staff went above and beyond was after I left an iPad in the dresser of our room the day we checked out. I didn't realize it was missing until we were in Panama City almost a full day later. Ana, who was working at reception when I called, had not seen it and went and thoroughly searched the room. It wasn't there and she hadn't seen it in the lost and found so she called the off-duty cleaning person and found that the iPad had been returned and kept in a safe location. Unable to ship to Panama City before our flight back to the States, Ana agreed to ship to a hotel in Boquete where we had made friends with the American owner. I am extremely grateful for the honesty of the staff and the exceptional customer service and highly recommend Casa Grande Bambito if you're lucky enough to visit Chiriquí province.
3 out of 5
by dw from ca

if you like strawberries

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels
the best about this hotel is the location, this area grows alot of fruits and veggies, strawberry stands within walking distance with great sundaes and banana splits, great food at the hotel too but the slowest service in Panama and thats saying something. The room started out great with a newly renovated bathroom that included a giant soaking tub but we couldn't access the internet so the hotel changed our room to one in a duplex, it was charming but had poor lighting and a very small rundown bathroom and the noise carried from the attached room, worst of all the internet was barely useable. we didn't stay the 2 nights we booked. the hotels need to understand that when you advertise wi fi that we rely on that even though we are on vacation we still need to check in with those at home,work and for our other travel reservations!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Last Minute Cancellation

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels
The day before I was to check into Casa Grande, I received emails and phone messages from hotels.com booking alerting me of a problem with my reservation. I lost 2 hours of my precious time in Panama City dealing with this unforeseen cancellation. After being shuffled back and forth between representatives, I was finally able to get 3 out of 5 days at the hotel. I'm not sure if I'm more upset with hotels.com or with Casa Grande.
4 out of 5
by Eva

Preciosas vistas, hotel rústico un poco anticuado

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
El lugar es espectacular , sin embargo el hotel necesita una buena mano. Las instalaciones están limpias pero un poco viejas. Me hubiera encantado que hubiera sillas en los jardines para tumbarse a leer un rato con esa vista, ya que solo hay un par de bancas donde uno no se siente tan cómodo. El desayuno decía estaba incluido en la página cuando estaba haciendo la reserva y a la hora de la confirmación no aparece, por tanto no lo respetaron. Los empleados son muy amables.
5 out of 5
by Monica G

Hermoso lugar

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
El hotel está en un lugar hermoso. El restaurante puede mejorar
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
God spaghetti bolognese Værelset var ikke godt, kunne høre alt fra nabo
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lindo lugar

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
El hotel está muy agradable y la gente muy atenta. Las camas tienen el colchón como pirámide y están algo incomodas El wifi no es muy bueno pero en general todo lo demás muy bien