Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Great boutique hotel & spa 2 hrs from CT

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Quirky in the the nicest way, this hotel evokes a mixture of a Moroccan courtyard guest house combined with Greek coastal architecture.
Cons: Find a platform for the water pitcher in the courtyard! ;-)
My wife & I wanted to get away from the city and just veg out for a couple of days - no activities, no hikes, just pure relaxation. General Manager Leigh, Assistant Manager Raymond and their attentive staff made sure that our every need was fulfilled. Our massage experience at the spa could not have been better, topped off with a gourmet dinner at Reuben's, the hotel restaurant. A short walk to the beach and its rocky bays (we had an entire small bay to ourselves), Abalone is well situated for a seaside getaway. The hotel is built around a courtyard with a calming water feature. I could have spent a whole day there just reading from the book collection in the adjacent adjacent library, but got tempted away to the Jacuzzi on the upper deck, with its views across the bay. This one's definitely a keeper and we'll return soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by SOA Guest Relations, Hotel Management
We thank you for taking the time to review us. We're thrilled that you had a wonderful experience and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
4 out of 5
by Pieter

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice stay except for the spa who messed up bookings after if being confirmed 3 weeks prior to arrival. ended up cancelling spa visit. Reubens restuarant is one of top 3 eateries in town, so quite convenient
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017
Thank you Pieter for your review. We are truly sorry about your spa booking. Feedback has been passed on to the management of the Healing Earth Spa who will address this will all ernest.
5 out of 5
by Kempton

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Admin and staff were so extraordinary that we doubled the length of our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017
Thank you for your 5 star review. We're delighted you had a memorable stay.
5 out of 5
by Marius

Check in and only leave when you check out!

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
All I can say is that I felt sad to leave! Leigh is the warmest GM that I've ever had the privilege to meet, it was like visiting a friend! Brilliant experience, Thank You!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017
Thank you for your 5 star review. We're delighted you had a memorable stay.
5 out of 5
by Rosemary from Gauteng

Great find in Paternoster

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
This was the best hotel ever. More than what was expected. Will go back again. The food at Reuben's was five star quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017
Thank you for your 5 star review. We're delighted you had a memorable stay.
5 out of 5
by Rosemary from Gauteng

Greatest stay ever

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
What a wonderful end to a great holiday. We spent two days here and everything was just perfect. Reuben's restaurant us the best ever.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paternoster escape

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic little hotel in a beautiful little town. Great service with excellent amenities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Bruce from Cape Town

Will be back.

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect getaway place
5 out of 5
by A C from London

Paternoster jewel

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
Abalone is the perfect place to stay with fantastic rooms, great service, exceptional food....tucked away in the sleepy town of Paternoster right on the glorious west coast.