Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Claire

Extremely noisy apartment

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice cottage. Well fitted out and comfortable. We had a few issues, namely the security guard asking us (three females) to open the door as he had been instructed to. Once we said no he stood watching us and telling us again to open it. We refused and told him to leave us alone. Highly unprofessional in my opinion. The tenants of the second adjacent cottage were partying every single night until 3 or 4 in the morning with extremely loud music and shouting. Never saw the security guard once after the initial time.
3 out of 5
by Quinton from Cape Town

Paternoster Cottages

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
The TV sound was crackly and annoying to listen to. A new TV in the cottage would be advised. Wifi would also be a good idea in this cottage. If there is, it wasn't on or working.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Beautiful property with spectacular views but had a number of minor maintenance issues - most lights didn't work in the kitchen, roof leaked after heavy rain. This didn't bother us that much but could annoy some folks who might be expecting top notch appearances. The staff were top notch however. I would stay there again, despite this issues described.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Quintus from Cape Town

Pleasant

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed at Oppidraai A. Not bad but maybe a tad overpriced with no seaview compared to other properties. Owners always very friendly and welcoming.Only complaint is the TV... its from the 80's? same as seaside cottages?Otherwise pleasant place to stay over the weekend.
4 out of 5
by CHRIS from Johannesburg

Paternoster Bliss

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
The Cottage was in a very neat and homely condition. With a beautiful view and facilities to cook your own dinners we had an awesome time. The concierge also provided us with a cot for our son so we didnt have to travel with one. Very impressed and relaxed!
1 out of 5
by Ivy from Johannesburg

Bad unsecured place

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
Separately from the reception, found quite a few spiders in the room, and there's no security, the rear window of our vehicle has been smashed the next morning. Will definitely not consider to stay there or this area again!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Failed to live up to promise

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
The apartment can only be described as "shabby chic" and has definitely seen better days. Probably the worst aspect was the bedroom with the beautiful sea view that did not have curtains at the window so lacked privacy. To make matters worse there was a street light just outside the window that, with nothing to block the light, made sleep difficult. We were also very surprised that, having had security issues highlighted on check in, one outside door could not be locked as there was no key available. Really poor value for money for the price paid per night.
4 out of 5
by Carina from Stellenbosch

Great weekend hideaway

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
We had a lovely breakaway. The cottage is small but totally all you need. The beach is just a short stroll from the cottage.
5 out of 5
by Carl from Cape Town

Amazing service, amazing views, excellent rooms

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
I would have loved to spend more than just one night. We were upgraded from the cottages to the hotel, as the hotel manager was not 100% happy with the condition of the cottage garden. The overall service, attention detail and quality of the rooms and restaurant are unparalleled!