Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent safari experience

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Great trip Lots of wildlife Varied habitat Staff gracious Good photography tips from ranger
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Hlosi Game Lodge, Hotel Management
Thanks for the kind review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the game drives so much. We hope you'll return again someday and wish you all the best, the Bailey family and Hlosi team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
An amazing place to stay and go on safari. Can be very cold in the early morning safari's rides - so wrap up warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Carlos, Hotel Management
Hi there, thanks for the lovely review! We're really glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us and enjoyed the game drives. We hope you'll return again someday and wish you all the best, the Bailey family and Hlosi team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Great lodge and excellent safari

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: -
Cons: -
Location: -
Stayed for three nights at Hlosi. Game drives were great and we saw the big 5. On one drive we were less than 5 metres from the pride of lions! Staff and ranger were always helpful. Accommodation was very comfortable and food plentiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Safari choice for families

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We enjoyed a 2 night safari at Hlosi which we felt was about right. They arrange 2 drives each day, each being 3 hours. Make sure you check in early enough to join the afternoon drive - 3pm at this time of year. Our check in information didn't tell us this and just said check in between 2 and 5pm. We arrived at 2.45pm and only just made the afternoon drive! If you miss it this is your loss and will only then only enjoy 3 drives on a 2 night stay. You are able to enjoy the morning drive on the day you check out, then have breakfast before leaving. There was no pressure from the hotel to check out by a certain time. However, if you are flying home after checking out you may have problems if you have a morning flight! You arrive back from the drive about 10am and then need to allow 1 hour for breakfast. We were concerned our 9 year old daughter would be bored on the drives of 3 hours, however we were seeing lots of animals and she loved it! Saw 4 out of the Big 5, the leopard being the missing one. We were told sightings are rare on this reserve. Overall a great experience and would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice game lodge & safari

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Had a nice stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, we're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Outstanding choice for safari

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Hlosi was an amazing experience. The staff are the nicest people and will make sure you are comfortable during your stay. I have told so many already that we have never been treated in the way we were treated at Hlosi. Our car was parked for us and luggage brought to room, while hot towels and hot apple cider were waiting for us as soon as we arrived. Room was stocked with water, beer, snacks, tea, coffee, brandy, and basically anything else we needed. The lodge grounds were beautiful. We had two options for dinner each night and two options for breakfast. All food was delicious and all alcohol was included. The game drives were great and our guide was extremely knowledgeable and passionate. She even brought some hard ciders for us for our afternoon drive. We also did a boat ride on the river as part of our game drive experience. When we returned from our morning game drives, more hot towels, hot chocolate, and a perfectly set table for breakfast awaited us. What astonished me the most about Hlosi was that despite us being their only guests during our stay, the lodge was set up and run as if it was full. They had lounge chair cushions out IN CASE we wanted to sit on them. We didn't even ask. They had a lovely array of light snacks prior to our morning game drive as if 10 people were partaking, even though it was only for us. I HIGHLY recommend Hlsoi to anyone considering a luxury safari experience at an affordable price. Thanks Hlosi!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by The Bailey family and Hlosi team, Hotel Management
Wow Ben, thank you so much for the glowing review! We really appreciate you taking the time to write down your experience of Hlosi Game Lodge and could not be more thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We will most certainly pass on your comments to our team, it means so much to hear so positively from our guests. We hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Awesome Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous hotel with 5 Star service in a wonderful setting - cannot rate high enough
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolle Safari Lodge

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Cons: Etwas mehr frisches Obst und vielleicht eine Alternative mehr beim Essen.
Die Lodge ist gepflegt und das Essen landestypisch gut zubereitet. Könnte etwas mehr Auswahl geben, aber man befindet sich ja Mitten im Busch. Getränke sind fast alle inklusive, was uns sehr gefreut hat. Die Safari und unser Ranger war einfach nur PERFEKT!! Super freundlich, sehr viel Wissen und unglaubliche viele Tiere! Wir haben sie alle gesehen und vor allem mehrfach!!! Die Zimmer, wir hatten die Zelte, sind sehr schön mit Badewanne ausgestattet, die man dankend nach einer Safari im Frühling, annimmt. Was man bei den Zelten beachten sollte, das sie, dank ständigem Wind, laut sind. Also die "Wände" sind in ständiger Bewegung, wem das zu rustikal ist, sollte lieber ein "richtiges Zimmer" wählen. Bitte auch beachten, das Sie niemals zu warm angezogen sein können. Der Ranger sagte uns das dort nahezu immer Wind weht. Im Frühling kann das wirklich frisch sein, im Sommer vermutlich angenehm. Alles in Allem waren wir sehr zufrieden und begeistert von einer Wahnsinns Safari.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Beautiful complex,doubtful management

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Nice complex and location. Rate of Amakhala see below. Floor heating in family room, but not in second room.
Cons: see above - disappointing management and unsteady service, heater for second room and
Location: Good and experienced game drives in Amakhala. We would recommend to visit a private game the ensure to see more animals.
According to our reservation we arrived around 2pm, at check-in time, have been warm welcomed, informed about the timetable (e.g. game drive in August at 7am an 3pm) with the information, that the manager will bring us to the room shortly. Until 5 minutes before 3pm the manager have not appeared. When she arrived, she welcomed other guests, who arrived considerable after us and avoid to bring us to our room, although an employee informed her about this and the stressed timetable. So we were not able to check in, change clothes and collect sufficient jackets and caps, which are needed these days. An other employee brought us to the room later, other guests of the game drive had to wait, since we were delayed. First diner was good, second average. First breakfast was good, but we missed the service for the second breakfast, before departing, since nobody has served us. Meals have been provided after multiple request and cutlery partly get from other tables by ourselves. No questions if e.g. additional drinks are required. Additionally we had not been informed about the tip rules, and had favored our ranger direct, instead of the pool. Nevertheless the game drives were fantastic. Unfavorable check-in have been confirmed by other guests. Additional remark: It is only possible to recommend the hotel or not. I would not recommend the hotel at standard room rate, but at a discounted rate. I would recommend the game drives, which is not mentioned in this review.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Hlosi Game Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a balanced review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your game drives with our talented rangers. Although tough reading, we appreciate your feedback on the food and check-in service, so we can take action and sort this out as quickly as possible. We hope to see you again soon. All the best, the Bailey family and Hlosi team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from M

Alles Schöne auf Hlosi

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Zimmerausstattung
Location: Addo
Wir hatten die letzten zwei Tage auf Hlosi zum Abschluss unserer SA Tour gebucht. Das Hotel ist toll - wir hatten vier der fünf Big Five. Zimmer und Essen waren gut. Ich kann das Hotel nur jedem empfehlen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by The Bailey family and Hlosi team, Hotel Management
Vielen Dank für die Bewertung. Wir hoffen jedoch, dass sie bei Ihrer Reiseplanung weiterhilft. Es klingt wie Sie hatten einige tolle Besichtigungen. Wir hoffen jedoch, dass sie bei Ihrer Reiseplanung weiterhilft.