Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

We ran out of superlatives

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Relaxed and comfortable - lovely food
Cons: The rehab centre was interesting and educative but could have been done far quicker and more efficiently
Location: not really relevant as you are in on eof the best places in the World to see animals in live habitat
A fantastic experience from start to finish - wonderful location, lovely staff, large comfortable rooms and great food and amazing experience for us and the kids . Expensive but worth every penny !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chehire, U.K.

Two nights of bliss!

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: The food was excellent,the facilities were first class, the grounds were beautiful. The Game Drives were a fabulous experience.
Cons: I struggle to find anything, but one small point comes to mind. I think that wine should be included in the price.
Location: It is hard to drive over the unmade road to get there, you have to go slowly or you will damage your car, we drove about 8 kilometres.
Many people would think that the Shamwari experience is all about the fabulous food, rooms, facilities, & staff. Well all of these things are out of this world, but the real experience is the animals. We were so lucky to have a ranger like Wes, his knowledge, commitment to the job & guests were second to none. The extent that he went too to make sure that we saw every available animal was fantastic. The Game drives were the highlight of our South African holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Absolutely fantastic! Fabulous accommodation, food and game drives- couldn't have asked for anything more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Out of this world

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Cons: Wifi in the room would be nice
It was such a pleasure to be there. The luxurious tent was very nicely setup -- a fireplace, mini bar, expresso machine, the plunge pool and the private deck. It was just out of this world. The food was awesome! Great compliments to all the chefs. It is totally a 6-star experience. I had the best of fun doing the game drives. The ranger is very knowledgable and we saw so much that it was totally unexpected. The visit to Born Free project was wonderful. It broadened my understanding of what needs to be done about animal abuse or cruelty.
5 out of 5
by Allan from North Yorks

Magnificent

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
Inspired South African experience. Our trip to Shamwari game reserve created very special memories as we experienced a warm, friendly and truly luxurious three days. The opportunities to view wildlife, flora and fauna was complemented by our professional and highly informed guide. The service from everyone was warm, friendly and generous. This elevated the experience, even though the weather was less than kind.
5 out of 5
by Nancy from Manilva

Outstanding

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
The whole Shamwari experience was outstanding, our game drive guide was fantastic,and all the staff could not d enough to help. We cannot recommend this place enough, well worth a stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

luxury safari stay

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
A wonderful lodge with amazing food and service and lots of personal touches
5 out of 5
by Lindsay from Guernsey

What an experience again - superb

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
We came back to Long Lee Manor for 2 nights and it was totally up to our expectation. The staff is very attentive and helpful. The food is plentiful, the beds very comfortable and the ambience very relaxing. However, the main attraction is the wildlife and the 2 game drives a day, one leaving at 6am and the second at 4pm. The rangers are very knowledgeable and interested in showing us way more than just the big animals. The scenery is stunning and it was a treat to return.
5 out of 5
by Dawn from Chesterfield

Amazing venue

Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely stunning location. Rooms fabulous. Food excellent. Organisation first rate. Safari everything I hoped it would be.
5 out of 5
by Johanna from Swindon

Two days at Eagles Crag

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay was just perfect, all we had dreamed for. It was our 25th wedding anniversary trip and it hit the spot. Thank you for all the staff who made our stay so special, with special thanks to Jan, our ranger for making our game drives fun and packed with beautiful sights.