Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, AU

Beautiful resort suitated in the trees

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Beautiful place, the town is a bit quite on Monday-Thursday however lovely views and a great place to relax to unwind. Enjoyed our stay, the staff were lovely and the room was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Aus

Cosy forest retreat!

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Lovely quiet location, with large comfortable rooms. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms clean, sizeable with great rain shower and seperate bath. The restaurant offered good food in a warm cosy environment, and the room service porridge was a highlight! A small thing: the rooms are some walk from the main building, and given it to as raining most of our stay it was unfortunate there were no umbrellas available, (apparently they ran out the whole time we stayed). Whilst the staff were helpful and offerred to ferry us to our room in golf carts, we felt this could have been easily rectified by an umbrella in each room.
5 out of 5
by Carol

Carol. Australia

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Just the best place to stay in every way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017
Hello Carol, Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Heidi Zonderop Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2017
we reallyenjoyed our stay. the staff were very pleasant and the food was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Bradley, Hotel Management
thanks for the review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Secluded hillside experience

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: It's uniqueness
Cons: Only the transporting of bags to your room. Lots of steps.
Location: We just enjoyed the bush serenity. The surrounding area was a pleasant town.
A great spot surrounded by lovely bush, we enjoyed our stay in modern room with wonderful bathroom with underfloor heating. A beautiful place to relax.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Bradley, Hotel Management
Great review, thanks so much
5 out of 5
by Ashok

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you for your 5 out of 5 rating, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

wonderful room, except bed ...

Posted May 7, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: staff and luxury rooms
Cons: better beds and mattresses!
room was fabulous, nice kitchenette and bathroom, deck and living room area. But the bed was really uncomfortable. It was a murphy bed, which is odd in such a nice room ...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Bradley, Hotel Management
thanks for the review. we will review the condition of the beds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem for those special occasions

Posted May 1, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location and Easy of access to the east coast
Cons: Due to the high occupancy the dinner on the first night was slow, which the staff did apologies for and tried to make good the delays.
Location: Beach Walking, Hot Water Beach at Low Tide is an experience not to be missed.
Arrival and Check-in were smooth and trouble free. Hotel and Room were very well presented with welcoming staff. Evenings were nice and relaxing with the rain on the roof. Check out was easy and fast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Bradley Conder, Hotel Management
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am glad you took advantage of our wonderful buggy. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Bradley Conder General Manager Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Nice hotel with some caveats

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Everything in the 'cons' section of the review
Overall, an okay experience, but some things to consider, especially if you're expecting a typical luxury hotel experience. Pros Nice location, very quiet, especially with the bush surroundings. Very helpful staff, willing to accommodate questions and requests. Restaurant is expensive, but the quality is good for the area, especially as you have to drive ~25 minutes to get to the nearby town for dinner options, and the bar next door is convenient. Cons Major issue was the design of the bathroom doors. They are sliding doors with slats and are not solid. This means you can hear (and smell!) absolutely everything in the bathroom, right next to the bed! Not a great idea. The beds were rock hard. I've had firm beds before, but these were like slabs of stone and made it hard to sleep. Room descriptions aren't clear online. Our booked room had a bath and a/c, which we wanted to swap for one with a shower only. We were told the rooms were the same, but the new room had no a/c. Rainhead shower is novel, but a bit on the weak side. The paths to the rooms are steep and I also almost slipped on an unlit step outside the adjacent room to ours at night. If you're not up to it, you can always take the golf cart up the hill instead. Given the cons, I felt that the price for the room was quite expensive. A real shame because the area does benefit from having a nice hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria Australia

Shazmic getaway

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Wotif
Absolutely beautiful. Did not expect it to be that good. Staff and facility fantastic.