Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Won't return

Posted Nov 28, 2015
We were put in an accessible room--had reserved a regular room. They may have been trying to accommodate loud groups of sports teams. We are on the taller side, so not a good fit. The dishwasher was broken, and had dried on food in it, so probably had been for awhile. Also the garbage disposal was not working. There were no breakers tripped, and although we reported it, it was never fixed during 3 night stay. The wood part of the floor had gaps where you could see the blue lining underneath and the slat between the carpet and floor was broken. One of the windows was cracked. Beds were uncomfortable and small. We had to go get our own towels twice housekeeping was skipped completely one whole day. I did have the do not disturb on the door for 20 minutes in the morning while I was alone in the room and taking a shower, but still... The last straw was when I called the day we checked out around 1 to ask about a piece of mail my son left in the basket beside the coffee machine. The woman (wish I had gotten her name) said she would check and call us back. We did not hear back and when I called the next day that woman couldn't have cared less and was told to call back the following day. When we called that day they hadn't checked and when they finally called back of course did not find it. Breakfast during the weekend not very good, Monday was better. We have stayed at other Homewood suites, and also this one years ago for one night, this visit did not measure up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sheri

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Toni from Washington, DC

Excellent Experience

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent hotel near Salem and Halloween festivities. Hotel staff members were very helpful with transportation information.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible staff

Posted Nov 2, 2015
We stayed for Halloween night. The location was great the room wasn't bad. The staff was less than helpful. Our cards were charged multiple times for 'incidentales' when we checked in. They tried four of our cards which they claimed didn't go through and ended up charging over $200 on our cards. They staff has been less than helpful to resolve the issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D norwalk ct

Excellent

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Had a great time. Our two pets also had a wonderful stay. Very frendly staff. Very clean. Great location. 👍👍
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Great stay. Very clean and staff was very friendly. Located near many restaurants and shopping locations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by tina from Syracuse, NY

Not a good value for the money.

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
The room was pricey for the size of the room. There was a lot of traffic noise from Route 1 all night long. The Room had an unusual layout and felt cramped. I stay in this area frequently and it was my first visit to this hotel. It was disappointing and pricey. I have had other accomodations in the area that have been really great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Comfortable hotel with fantastic friendly staff

Posted Oct 19, 2015
I had a great stay at this hotel. The room was equipped with everything, there was a full kitchen and they even had a sewing kit, a kit with extra toiletries (q-tips, emery board, tooth pick, etc) and make wipes in the bathroom. The woman at the front desk called us a cab to go to Saleman and then allowed us to go up to our room to change and called us in our room when the cab got there. We will definitely be staying here again next time we go to Salem in October.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Broken Sofa Bed

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Our maid was extremely nice and helpful. Hotel was clean and complimentary breakfast was good. Staff were very friendly. The bottom of the sleeper sofa (the feet) was missing all the springs / support bars, and had no support. Hence, the bottom of the mattress simply fell with any weight.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katherine

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice looking but the bathroom and living area had issues that should be addressed. The bathroom had lift handles in the bathtub that were rusty and open without any caulking on it. The bathroom also had rust stains behind the toilet. The living room couch and chair were stained and although comfortable had wear marks on the arms. In the bedroom the chair at the table was worn as well with the material,white, coming through. We come to Salem once a year and I wouldn't stay here because of the dated conditions.