Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Had given our rooms to others

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Good location
We were travelling with my 90 year old mother. Had indicated that when I phoned the reservation, and were promised to be on a lower floor. When we checked in, they had given our rooms to others, and put mother on the highest floor... with several sets of steep stairs. The facility is okay for their regular Peak District Hiking crowd, but definitely not good for people who are "stair challenged".
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, dog-friendly option in the Peak District

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was nice with a fabulous view, but could be updated. The food was good as well. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Can walk the Peaks from the Inn

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Excellent views in a good location for walking and friendly staff
Cons: Fix faulty shower in one of the rooms and check your bill at end of stay to ensure includes no extra drinks not consumed!
Location: Excellent walking straight from front door and Hathersage village just down the road. Not far from Bakewell too.
Booked two triple rooms for an overnight stay in the Peaks. Rooms were very comfortable and spacious. Excellent views across Hope valley could be seen from the rooms. Food was typical pub grub and plenty of it. Good hearty breakfast served by very friendly waitress, nothing was too much trouble. Avoid the coffee or was it hot water?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, not so good staff

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location only 15 minutes from Sheffield. Staff however seemed very stressed and even though we were paying guests it felt as though we were inconveniencing them. The shower was also full of mould and there was a dirty pair of socks left on our radiator. The same person that serves breakfast was also quickly going up and sorting the rooms, so I dread to think how much cleaning was actually done. Overall, great location and fine for 1-2 nights but I'd probably only stay here again if I couldn't find anywhere else.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value food

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were very welcoming with a good choice of local beers. There was a basic menu of pub food and a good cooked breakfast. Owner needs to spend money on the fabric of the building and there was a lot of road noise in bedroom. Food, B and B good value and the staff make up for the building
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Not what I would call 4*

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The room was a good size and bathroom was pleasent
Cons: I have stayed in numerous 4* and none have been as poor as this, it was definately 3*. The downstairs was quite drab and reception was part of the bar
Location: There was nothing in walking distance but Castleton was a real experience, beautiful village and Blue John and Devils arse mines only a few miles away
After a delay of 45 mins after the time we could check in we were taken to our room which compared to the downstairs was lovely. There is a good size car park. The downstairs was in need of a good polish as was in need of TLC.
4 out of 5
by tat2jules from Diamond Harbour

Wonderful hotel

Posted May 17, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel looks tired ftom the outside but inside it's homely and the staff are everso friendly. it was a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

great for base for walking

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: free wi-fi, free sweets, free dog biscuits, dog friendly
Cons: food slightly on ordinary side, check of rooms - thermostatic valves missing from radiators
Location: three walks straight from hotel door,
lovely weekend, only marginally spoilt by staff forgetting an order for a cup of tea, and preferring to serve locals ahead of visiting paying guests, standard pub grub menu
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

A lovely country hotel.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Comfortable, good parking, helpful friendly staff.
Location: Country setting. Ideal for access to the Peak District.
Very helpful and friendly staff. The room was well equipped and comfortable. Enormous portions of good food on offer and overall a great stay.