Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel beautiful setting

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Hotel was nice, good breakfast. Beautiful setting. Room & bathroom very small for the double room. Woman at desk at check in was not very knowledgeable. Front desk not covered at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Driving up to the hotel I instantly fell in love with this place. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is wonderful. We were arriving late and the hotel arranged for us to have sandwiches waiting which was perfect. Peebles is adorable town nearby and recommend a visit. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel!
3 out of 5
by ALAN

Lack of pet friendliness spoiled our stay

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel says it is doggie friendly but it is not! A nice bowl of water at the front door, lovely walks in the grounds but you can't actually take your dog anywhere inside the hotel except your room! Not even in the bar. When compared with the Lake District, we found the Peebles area to be very doggie unfriendly with one exception - The Tontine Hotel, who couldn't do enough for us when we ate in their bar area. So, if you have a dog, stay there and not at Cringletie House. When a hotel says it is doggie friendly, I expect a dog blanket, bowl and biscuits in the room and access to breakfast and an evening meal WITH my dog - not to leave him in the room. Other places I have stayed have done this very well. Get the impressions that Cringletie House really doesn't want dogs there at all. Otherwise, Cringletie House is ok - a bit stuffy and they totally got the poached eggs wrong on day one at breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herndon, VA

Too bad wrongly stayed one night

Posted Sep 2, 2016
I can see myself walking in the woods and gardens for many days. The reception was so warm, the room lovely with a teddy bear on the bed, bathroom amenities superb, room setting wonderful. Food and drinks in restaurant amazing. Can't say thank you enough for a delightful evening.
5 out of 5
by Mark from Conwy

Exceptional hotel

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
What a fantastic hotel. We were both blown away by the quality of the service, the quality of the food, the quality of the room and the delightful building an grounds. it is a long time since I have stayed anywhere that cares so much about the quality of my stay and in such a lovely building
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northeast scotland

Beautiful, unique hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Lovely food, stylish decor, attentive and friendly staff, beautiful views and walled garden!
Lovely rooms and the whole hotel has great charm, even in the depths of midwinter!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel!

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Spent one night at this lovely hotel! Staff were fabulous and our room was even nicer than in the photos. Only downside was that the bedroom window did not open.
4 out of 5
by Frances from Glasgow

September near Peebles

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
A relaxing and pleasant overnight stay.
5 out of 5
by Jakob from Debden

Peaceful hotel near Edinburgh

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
This is a great historic manor hotel set in wonderful parkland, including an original walled garden. We had a wonderful time, food was exceptional and the owner most friendly and helpful. We will be back.