Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: The grounds
Professional staff and good food. Grounds were very peaceful and very lush.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cupar

Lovely quiet hotel with exceptional staff

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Hotel is currently going through a refurbishment and the public areas are looking great but the rooms are looking a bit tired. They are being done slowly and are perfectly ok and clean but will be so much better in a few months. Staff are very friendly, attentive and try their best to help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Restaurant food and service was good.
We were of the understanding that the hotel was actually located in Peebles. However the main issue for us was the noise late at night coming from the courtyard caused by smokers. Travellers are looking for a good nights sleep not noisy partygoers who don't give a toss !
5 out of 5
by Not Provided

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Meals are nice menu could do with a bit more of a choice apart from that very nice place will stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife

Good friendly stay

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Covers all the bases. Has what you need for a trip away. I can't comment on the facilities as such as we were out most of the time and didn't really use them.
4 out of 5
by STEWART

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
This is a lovely-looking hotel on a hillside in a lovely area, and an ideal location for commuting into Edinburgh about half an hour's drive away. The bedroom was basic but fine for what I needed, and the staff very friendly. I ordered room service easily, though the food from the bar menu wasn't the best I ever had - there is a nicer restaurant which I didn't try, but I'm sure is nice. Some of the doors one the inside of the hotel could do with a lick of paint, but it looks like they are in the process of doing the place up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Slightly tired old country house

Posted May 29, 2017
The building is lovely, but fittings are showing their age. Soundproofing is minimal - we could hear every door opening and closing in the corridor, footsteps in the corridor above and conversations in the adjoining room. I believe renovations are beginning, though, so hopefully some of this will be rectified for future guests. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the restaurant food was excellent.
4 out of 5
by Judith

Visiting for a wedding in the area

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
We had a very pleasant stay at the barony castle the food was excellent and staff very pleasant and attentive. The grounds are delightful. Our room was in the eves so as the weather was fantastically hot so was our room especially at night but we were so lucky with the weather it is not a complaint. The town of Peebles is lovely with nice unspoilt architecture and a good selection of shops. Would definitely visit again if we are in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by WILLIAM

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful setting, interesting history.