Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, England

Lovely hotel close to the shops

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Staff are incredible so friendly, helpful and always had a smile for everybody.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Customer Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Jinty for lovely feedback which will be shared with the team. Hope to see you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Peebles Hydro

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Spacious feel, lovely grounds and great warm pool.
Cons: Variety of dinner menu
Very good value. Rooms are spacious and very pleasant. Staff very friendly and helpful. Superb swimming pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Fantastic hotel, beautiful location, badly run.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Place. It.
Cons: Service, organisation, all of that.
Location: Fantastic - and if this hotel was run better, you couldn't have a better base.
We stayed here 5 times before. Great Edwardian place. I rang ahead to guarantee a great view, which ended up being of the car park, although they had told me it would be great. Apparently they have a different, Crieff-based. customer service, who not only reassured about the room, but also told me they had booked me a table for dinner, when they hadn't. They couldn't change my room from the basement, which ruined my mother's 80th birthday - I wanted to give her a big thrill when she woke up - but no apology or understanding. It's a great place, badly run. The over-priced restaurant has bad food with nice but ill-trained staff. Really weird lounge where you have to queue up, rather than be served and where the staff clear other people's drinks from tables every 2 hours, with a weird greenhouse with gin bottles in the middle. Such a shame. A bit of good management and care and attention wold make this place great again. As long as they don't rent out our awful rooms (31 and 30). However, it would take a lot to make us go back there, unfortunately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Serenity and quietness and leisure facilities
Cons: cleaning of the rooms are done only in the morning which means if you miss you don't get your room cleaned
Location: Beautiful scenery and landscapes for waking and biking
Excellent place to stay and relax especially for families and small groups. I definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darvel, Scotland

One night break

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Hotel and pool clean and welcoming, staff and breakfast excellent. Unfortunately the position of room 102 on the side of the building meant we had a disturbed sleep. There was a metal clanging noise 3 or 4 times every hour. I did report this to reception staff on checking out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Very nice hotel food walks

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Plenty to do within the hotel we when to the leisure centre joined the accompanied walk which was really interesting got some really good photos as the morning was frosty . There where quiz nights archery as well as other events on .thought out our stay but we like to our own things as well .staff were very helpful,always smartly dressed willing to help if needed the only small complaint that we had was we could of had a small dining table in between the two chairs as there was a small table that could only hold the tea making things and a dressing table .with the size of room there is space to have a table to eat from .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenock

Pleasant stay in Peebles Hydro

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Everything but especially space and setting
Cons: Wider range of options for dinner menu
Location: Walking, exploring area, visiting charming town of Peebles, pottering around shops, eating out.
Beautiful country setting with wonderful views and lovely walks nearby. Very pleasant and attentive staff. Excellent big room with spacious bathroom although there was a fault with cold water supply so we were moved the second day which was unfortunate as the view wasn’t so good although shower was fantastic. Food enjoyable and breakfast was relaxed. Dinner menu could have been broader. Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitley Bay

Touch of Class from days gone by

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Room size and quality, location and that touch of class from days gone by.
Cons: Not a great deal for the price
Location: The facilities are great, spa/pool very nice, loads of activities for the kids
Excellent hotel and fantastic value for money. Breakfast very good quality, staff helpful. Drinks a wee bit expensive but hey what do you expect. Rooms very clean and roomy. Beds very comfortable. Peebles town is a great place to visit with lovely shops and good restaurants. We visited the Italians below the church and had a great meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Modern comfortable room

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Location nice friendly atmosphere
Cons: Perhaps a quiet reading room - the location of this hotel allows the peace and tranquility to read.
Location: Excellent walks nice local shops
Check in was efficient and helpful. Room 129 was a delight loved the decor and the wonderful extremely comfortable bed. We had breakfast the following morning and service and food excellent. Looking forward to our next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fife

Expected better

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Check in terrible. Room not ready and had to Keep checking at reception. Eventually got key 45 minutes after check in time. Room lovely but bits of rubbish on floor. Wasn't hoovered properly. Shower worst I've ever had. A slow drip then if you moved it up the rail went off all together. Don't know if too many people using or because it was third floor. Open pack of biscuits on tea tray with one half eaten which were replaced after complaining. Breakfast was a buffet and my husband and other guests likened it to a cattle market. Very busy and noisy and food not very hot. Won't be back sorry.