Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Quiet.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location away from the main road. Continental Breakfast.
Cons: Carpets and Air Conditioner
Location: Pelham, Georgia, is a very quiet town. If you want night life you need to drive like 1/2 hour to Thomasville, Georgia.
I had stayed before at this Hotel and I will return. Our first day we found the floor not cleaned. I went to the Lobby and spoke with the Manager and she offered to change our room and she stated she was going to talk to the room service. We decided to stay in the same room. We stayed one more day and when we returned in the afternoon, all was very clean. So the Manager did take care of our complaint. Nice Management and very friendly. The room smells good no smoke or pet odors. Note: I saw two ladies that went to the Continental Breakfast and thought they were shopping at Wal-Mart, took almost all of the breakfast. They didn't take the cereals because they were in containers. This kind of behavior makes the Hotel owners just eliminate this kind of amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
clean budget hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you had a pleasant stay. Hope to see you again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Everything was dirty,

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Orbitz
The bedroom was in really bad condition, the carpet was dirty and with holes . The toilet was yellow seems that in long time nobody clean it. The shower has holes everywhere. The pillows smell cigarette and we payed no smoking room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Manager, Executive Inn, Hotel Management
We are sorry to know that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. Based on the information we received from Orbitz you requested a smoking room. You were assigned to a different room initially which was being cleaned at the time of your check in. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you had to deal with and hope to serve you better in future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I'll stay again!!!

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
See above descriptive
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
You are welcome to stay anytime!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

OK but out in the boonies

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Nothing to do near by
Seemed to be out in the middle of nowhere but was a welcome site from Hurricane Matthew. Older unit, but certainly adequate. However, the check in staff was wonderful. Really tried to accommodate evacuees and were sincere in their manner. Young woman staff, Indian gal, was wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Manager, Executive Inn, Hotel Management
I'm glad we were able to be your refuge in the storm. Thank you for your very thoughtful comments!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us the rating! We constantly work to improve customer satisfaction. Hope to serve you in future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean Reasonably Priced Motel

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Clean reasonably priced room with light breakfast included. Room also included small fridge & microwave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I hope you come and see us for many more years!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Animal friendly/ bad toilets

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: We went to the flint aquarium
This hotel is animal friendly, but I am allergic to cats, and it was horrible, the toilet kept backing up, we should of known because there was a plunger next to it. The staff didn't bring coffee packs had to go get them and then only wanted to give me 1 for a room with 2 beds.. But we were safe and dry during the hurricane
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Manager, Executive Inn, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry. That was not up to our standards! Our normal clean up process after a pet stay is shampoo the carpet and sanitize the room before renting again. Due to high traffic from the Hurricane we did not have any time in between to clean the way we normally do. As far as your comments on the toilet backup we have taken action to fix the issue. We have complimentary coffee maker in every room as well as coffee in office lobby all day. Our staff is friendly if asked for more than one pack she would have happily provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Orbitz
It was nice and clean and quiet place. Nice friendly staff. Got a good price for a one night stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Manager, Executive Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you had a comfortable stay. Hope to see you again.