Ratings based on 1,524 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great except Wifi

Posted May 2, 2017
Cons: Only complaint is the Hotel Wifi is tooooooooooooooo slow
Great Hotel with centralised location. Only complaint is the Hotel Wifi is tooooooooooooooo slow
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Grand old hotel , right location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Large corner room
Cons: For me , not much .
Location: Great location near the sea and all the town's tourist sites .
If you like grand old hotels I would recommend this , economical prices, friendly staff , huge rooms . great sea views . Perfect location for Georgetown sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Very good hotel in George Town

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and location
Cons: We were very happy with our stay and could not really find anything to complain about
Location: Walking distance to tourist attractions and also plenty of restaurants and bars nearby
We stayed 7 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. Room was very clean and comfortable. Pool on the 4th level was really good as well. Breakfast was delicious with a large selection of Asian and Western foods. Staff were very friendly and helpful too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Strategic Location

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Size of the room is big
Cons: direct access from hotel to car park. (lift only available at level 2 & 5) Difficult for families with baby & stroller.
Location: Strategic Location
Very strategic location. Only use Grab car to go any where with minimal charges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tan

Excellent

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Once I find the hotel bearings, I realised the hotel is in a very good location for public transport, as well as walking to the main bus terminal at Komtar. The Red Garden Food Centre is another ideal place for food that's too close, if one intends to go on diet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenbank Australia

Nice Hotel at end of Penang Street

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: It was near public transport (including the free public bus) and close to Penang Street.
Cons: The front desk staff should refer any problems that guests have to management. The revolving restaurant should be fixed so that it revolves.
Location: It is 5 mins walk from the top of Penang St and 15mins walk from Fort Cornwallis.
The hotel was nice, clean and staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed six nights. We only had one bad experience though with a leaking hand basin in bathroom. It took 3 attempts to fix the problem over three days. The last time they offered to move us but it was 8pm and we only had 2 nights to go. It was not worth the effort to move. The maintenance men asked us not to use the basin for a few hours and to let them know if it still leaked, which it did. Considering that each time they came to fix the sink they were there a couple of hours and it was our last night, we decided to only tell them when we checked out. Upon checking out I mentioned all this to the girl and requested some sort of compensation, to which she replied that we could have had a new room. I do not class moving everything to another room compensation but more of an inconvenience. Breakfast was buffet with a good choice for all travellers. The hotel had a roof top bar which gave fantastic views of the city and harbour, with a revolving restaurant attached. Unfortunately the revolving restaurant did not revolve!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is quite nice to stay at.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The place is quite good. It would have been good if the hotel is vacuumed more as the carpet seems to feel dusty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

AN OLD OLD HOTEL MADE WORSE BY BAD MAINTENANCE

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: ONLY the location
Cons: Cleanliness of the Rooms
Location: Great restaurants and pubs within walking distance
The Location is great - very near Restaurants and pubs. However, the hotel is old old old old. The Room certainly needs refurbishment. The carpet is smelly and to make matters worse the management doesn't provide slippers for guests, which other 4 star hotels do. The Housekeeping Department needs an overhaul. There were times they took used bath towels away and conveniently forgot to replace them and the same goes for coffee, mineral water and creamer packets. You will be lucky if they replenish them for you. I have given up calling the Reception on these matters....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Penang 5 days

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Old hotel with character well maintained. Great location near old city, ocean and Red Outdoor Beer garden. Cool hotel bar on roof. Very nice breakfast buffet. Overall, really good value. Only complaint is very very limited English TV stations: Thailand and Vietnam much much better. WHY?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

nice hotel ,good buffet breakfast .

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: good buffet breakfast which has variety of local fruits such as papaya and watermelons.
Cons: cleaning staff as most of the time insufficient toilet rolls ,shower gels and etc.
Location: close to eating area which is just 3 mins walk .Called the red garden /lovely music / all variety of local amazing food .Just loves it.
check in staff upgrade my room which is very helpful .Request for a standing shower .