Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

In the heart of George town

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Close to love lane. Easy to catch bus. If you want to go to penang hill catch the 204 bus. Only 2 myr each. Have correct change.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Not recommend

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Shower is shared but it was mostly over toilets made it hard to shower. Room was mostly dirty. No glasses, no water, plug half way up the wall could not do my work as the lead only just reached the bed and there was no table to work from. Bugs on the bed. Very bad hotel sorry
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chulia Heritage Hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Too spartan for us, nothing else except beds, shared toilets outside, tiny window, room and lobby were too hot, strong painted smell, could not bear to stay. Changed hotel and no refund, very unhappy with standards at the price paid for 2 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean white and not eerie for the building age.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Having to take your shoes off.
Bang in the centre of Georgetown, so much live and characters. Truly all cultures going about their own businesses. Temples, Chinese and Indians, Churches and Mosques all in one street. Lots of hawker food and sleazy Bars at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Klang

Hotel at Penang Street

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: amnesties for backpacker such as normal drinking water (not hot water)
the hotel is at a nice location where u can walk around penang street to enjoy penang. the downside is I din notice i booked a shared bathroom room so its not convenient for couples especially females. My room's aircond was broke doen on the 1st night and we had to put up with a stand fan. it took almost 1 whole day to get it repaired and we did not get any compensation for the problem caused to us. Very disappointed with the management.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, clean but noisy floor boards

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel cleaning staff was excellent but speaks not a word of english. The rooms and the facilities were very very clean. But the floor boards are very very noisy when you walk on them. Thus if your tenants are an active bunch (eg teenagers on a holiday), you'll never get a good night's sleep or sleep-ins. The shared bathrooms are very warm with small teeny windows. So dressing After your shower, before you step out, will already leave you perspiring profusely. However, the location is fantastic. Night markets and eateries at yr doorstep. Bus stops right out front. Perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel at a great location

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel at a great location, away from busy road. Do be careful for room selection as we mistakenly booked the shared bathroom option..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BED BUGS + BAD SOUND PROOF

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was a horrible experience! Sound proof was bad (we could hear loud noises from the outside) and there were bed bugs in the room! Extremely disgusting and cannot be forgiven. We booked 2 nights but we couldn't stand it and left immediately after the first night. The room was dirty and uncomfortable, which made us fell really really sick after the first night. Will never recommend this to anyone and will never come back anymore!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, friendly staff

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Hotel is located in chulia Road, close to a lot of food and nightlife. Public transport is very easy to find as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KL

Nice hotel close to eatery place

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Cons: parking space is limited
Its just 3-5 minutes walk from famous eatery place in Penang. Easy access to public transportation like bus and taxi.