Ratings based on 1,569 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Beautiful, classic hotel with great service

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Complimentary breakfast at Sarkies, refreshments and 'happy hour' at Planters Lounge, and beautifully appointed rooms with 'His and Hers' vanities.
Location: Great central location and easy access to many tourist sights e.g. Fort Cornwallis, Peranakan Mansion, Cheong Fatt Tze (Blue Mansion), many temples
We stayed for a week and were impressed with the service and amenities. The staff were professional and helpful and the room (in the Victory Annexe) was large and well-appointed. It also had a small balcony. We loved the complimentary breakfast in 'Sarkies' Restaurant each day with so many choices that you'd have to stay for a month to be able to try them all! We also enjoyed the complimentary refreshments and snacks during the 'happy hour' in the Planters Lounge. We made good use of the infinity pool to help cool off and to just enjoy the view. During our stay we attended a function hosted at the hotel and the catering was very good. Location was also great for us as its quite central and easy to get around Georgetown and beyond. We would recommend this hotel to others and it would be our first choice on return trips to Penang.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel with seaview

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff to accommodate to our room request. Very spacious and comfortable room. Definitely will stay here again for my next trip to Penang.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila

Beautiful bit of history

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Lovely hotel from another era, spacious, grand, chic. Large rooms with space for three small kids, nice views, good food. Stay in the heritage wing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

The E&O is an amazing place.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: The decor and opulence.
Location: Fort Cornwallis and the Blue Mansion are within walking distance.
We stayed here with my husband and adult daughter. It is the perfect blend of hotel and resort. The rooms are so beautiful as is the setting and location. The hotel food was delicious and the drinks package is fantastic. I will definitely try and return to spend more time in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

A very nice British style hotel.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Decoration, gorgeous sea view.
Cons: Staff attentive to customers, cleaness of the restaurant.
Location: George Town with lots of street food and street arts.
The hotel decoration in general are very nice, old British style. But the details have lots of room for improvements. The area between the new and old building serves as temporary rubbish storage area which is smelly at times. The staff are not very attentive to customers. We changed rooms due to shower issues and asked the staff to check if we left things behind, but got no feedback from them. Asked the manager at the breakfast restaurant to reserve a table for us for high tea and he forgot. The high tea was not as good as we expected. In general the hotel is very nice and improvement in staff service and upgrade of hardware can take the hotel to another level. Also most of the food at the buffet bar are not covered and we can see flies around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Iconic hotel in central, yet quiet, location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Great location. Sea view. Pleasant complimentary drinks and snacks with distant views towards the mainland.
Cons: Try to resolve confusion over taxi pick up point i.e. Between original hotel and Victory Suites extension
Location: Great location to visit all parts of Georgetown
A most enjoyable stay. Everything was superb. The staff, in particular, were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City centre hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Old colonial feel
Cons: Breakfast was very slow and huge queues to get served fresh food, far too overcrowded dining area, very poor Sunday roast with lots of fat and gristle
Location: George town is a short walk and nice views
Nice hotel, a little run down but improved a lot since my last stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Lovely old world hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Old world charm and atmosphere
Location: Perfect position to discover the heritage and local customs and types of food etc
We spent a wonderful 7days in this charming Hotel. We were in a King suite in the heritage annex and it suited us perfectly. The staff were always cheerful and ready to help with whatever we requested be it help organising a island tour to how best to take ourselves around the heritage sites in Georgetown of which there are several. We were also impressed with the new Victory annex which carries through with the same exemplary staff attitudes and more modern fittings and vibe. Overall we will be recommending a stay top friends as we were by friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
I'm happy with my daughter and the staff are very friendly and polite
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Beautiful hotel, interesting history, great location. Staff are attentive and knowledgeable