Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Rooms need improvement

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Staff were courteous and helpful.
Cons: Cleanliness and to supply more packets of coffee.
Hotel is surrounded with many facilities. Hotel rooms are not clean, Wifi is very slow, chokage of toilet bowl. The worst scenario was we were locked out on 9 Feb. We booked the rooms for 3 nights, 8 Feb, 9 Feb and 10 Feb. On 9 Feb, we left the hotel in the morning to the temple for Thaipusam. We came back at 4.45pm to change to go for a show at 5.40pm. We could not use our card to gain entry. One of our family member went down to the reception, we were given another set. The new set was not able to open the door. Called the reception, the staff came up and told me that our group is suppose to check out on 9 Feb. I have to highlight to them that we booked 3 nights. All staff should be careful and informed of all bookings.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
The hotel is located in a central area but the condition of the premises is terrible. The building looks old and dilapidated. It is so dirty and unkept. The service road is bumpy and terrible. The carpark is horrible. The parking lots are insufficient. There was no signage to indicate that the carpark was full. We had to enter and make a few rounds before exiting. Also, the locals don't follow rules. They park anyhow and anywhere. How can the security allow them to park on both sides of the road in the non-parking area in the carpark. It was difficult to drive past the parked vehicles without bumping to them. There is total disregard of rules and regulations. So, we were instructed by the hotel reception to park at the basement. However, we found out only upon checking out the following day that the basement carpark belongs to the shopping mall and therefore, we had to pay for the parking charges. Why weren't we informed earlier about it? In short, our stay was ruined. I'll never book this hotel again unless it undergoes major renovation and resolve its parking woes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, USA

Def not 4 star

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Stains on bedsheets and curtains. Bathroom dated and rusty. Staff ok. Hotel may have been 4 star when it was last renovated years ago but no longer is. Wasted/sacrificed two hours of my life on the phone with Exoedia Gold/Elite staff and was treated horribly. Can't imagine how they treat non-gold members...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Stay in this hotel is very convenient especially if you have to go for a medical treatment or medical check-up in Penang Adventist Hospital.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sgp

Affordable hotel closest to the Gurney hub

Posted Sep 9, 2016
For affordable accommodation and proximity to Gurney adventures, this hotel is recommended. Nice unblocked view of the surrounding area. Rather old fittings and fixtures, but still within comfortable level.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice stay!

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Great size room. Close to Adventist Hospital. Only negative was that the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. We woke each morning with backaches.
2 out of 5
by Seng Hong

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
check in and check out were very slow and the staff even let other guest to cut queue although i already stand in line. Room condition is excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel staff

Posted Aug 20, 2016
I think the hotel staffs are warm and friendly, especially the guy name Roslie, he is a lovely guy, I alway see him smiling, whenever I need help he alway show the willingness to help, I think his service is better than a lot of five star hotel staff, excellent Roslie!!thanks for your service, I will definitely come back again.
1 out of 5
by Daniel from UK

impossible to sleep

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
music from japanese kareoke bar next door really loud until 5am EVERYNIGHT! Originally put in room on 15th floor, asked to be moved to a quiet room the next day. reception accommodating and moved us to a room on the 25th floor, unfortunately this made no difference as the music can be heard in every room in the hotel. if you want to be able to sleep during your stay in penang i would advise looking for a different hotel.