Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from www.worldglobetrotters.com

Good location, friendly staff

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Location: Walking distance to everything - or catching the bus.
Mingood is one of our favorites. It is an older hotel a bit worn but clean! Unfortunately there is construction noise for the next year or so - so ask for a quiet room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Basic but fine

Posted Dec 28, 2015
We've stayed here before, and were happy to return. Sure it's an older, well-worn hotel that is showing its age, but it has everything you basically need at a good budget price, along with friendly, helpful and cheerful staff. It's location is close to the main historic area, and the simple breakfast is an added bonus. It's nothing flash, but it's where we like to stay when in Penang..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Good for budget travellers & family

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: Carpark (covered) provided but first come first serve basis. Aircond unexpected cold. Room is spacious with digital lock. Safe & mini fridge provided.
Cons: Lights in room/bathroom are too dull. Furnitures/tv are old but if you like antique. Standard breakfast should given free for hotel occupants.
Location: Near to Georgetown. Famous hawkers food & tourist attractions can be easily found within 15 mins radius by car. Streets are mostly in one way.
Everything works fine for me except the construction site (piling) next door during day time. Its worth what I paid for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Comfortable budget hotel in the centre.

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: a good coat of paint in the rooms would help!
Location: Location is central. Visit Bayview hotel - 360 restaurant & bar. Stunning views!
Can't complain about it. Good value for money and no more than you can expect for a budget hotel in Georgetown.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MY

Clean & Good Location

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Breakfast - add an egg.
Location: Near Suria Mall and eatery places.
Basic amenities. Don't bother with the breakfast - bread and orange. Many eateries nearby. Safe for budget traveller.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KL,Msia

Abit old hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2015
quite big space for a room bt anyhow still abit old building. however staff are friendly enough
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melaka, Malaysia

FAMILY ORIENTED HOTEL

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The location!
Cons: The breakfast buffet.
Location: Perpendicular to Penang Street and a whole lot of shopping centres further down the road.
Brought my wife, kids and mum-inlaw for a 3D2N stay. Hotel location is strategic. Cleanliness impeccable (don't be fooled by the dingy toilet lights). Spacious rooms, breakfast at balcony and parking bay available. Only downfall is the breakfast which could have included some eggs. They only have toasted bread and jams with coffee. Eggs and sausages are chargeable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from sydney

Older but clean hotel close to main centres

Posted Jun 25, 2014
I moved this hotel based on others reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel staff were wonderful and friendly. When I asked to change rooms there was no issue. Everything worked. The aircon was good the rooms big. The tv reception and availability of channels excellent. At this price you can't go wrong.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Geelong Aust

Clean and comfortable budget hotel.

Posted May 19, 2014
Hotel was close to the city centre of George town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joos from Seri Kembangan, Selangor

Small on scale, big on charm

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Spaciousness, vintage decor, near enough to the city centre yet far enough from the congestion.
Cons: The breakfast - I mean, come on, no scrambled eggs?
Location: Whatever you do, don't take rooms that face the main road directly in front of the hotel. There's a dog on the opposite row that barks all night long.
Took my wife and two-year-old son for a short stay here to celebrate his birthday. We got ourselves a Double Room, 1 Queen Bed, Ensuite. I must say, I was pleasantly surprised with the size of both the room and the bathroom - the bathroom has a bath tub in it, and still has enough space for my wife to be comfortably in there with him to bathe him. And I reckon even if I were to brush my teeth in there while my wife bathes him, we'd still be comfortable! The whole interiors decor has a nice old-school, vintage feel about it, with modern amenities to ensure convenience. The lift looks as old as my old man, but still functions perfectly. Authentic Peranakan furniture dot the place throughout, but the hallways are lit with LED lights, and there's a flat screen TV in the room. All in all, apart from having to suffer from the usual tantrums of our two-year-old, the hotel ensured we didn't have to endure any other hardship. Will definitely stay here again for our next visit, unless we can afford E&O by then!