Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex Connecticut

About as perfect as you could imagine.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Little extra's like bottle water, cookies and candy snacks, the front porch has plenty of seating including the requisite rockers.
This B&B has everything you want, centrally located between 2 Finger Lakes and dozen's of quality wineries. The historical nature of the Inn is secondary but of no less value. Family owned for several generations, the Lord of the Manor will happily regale you of it's history. The Proprietress and Proprietor could not be more gracious and hospitable. Breakfast each day was a particular highlight, the quality of ingredients, presentation and abundance sent us all off for a day of site-seeing and wine tasting with our belly's full and little need for anything but a mid-day snack. Dining options for dinner are somewhat limited, the Top of the Lake has an amazing view of the lake, in fact you may chose to dine alfresco and seemingly on the lake with the infinity view. Staff was excellent but meals somehow missed their mark, ever so slightly but not without notice. The Keuka Restaurant downtown while more of a sports bar atmosphere, was actually the better choice for food and offers very comfortable, casual family dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Beautiful historic home owned and operated by a descendant of the original builder in 1790. Comfortable room and excellent breakfasts in a bucolic setting. Owners were friendly and helpful in suggesting local restaurants and events. We would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by Lawrence from Campbell, CA

Wagener Estate

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
The new owners at the Wagener are very nice and very helpful. The B&B is charming and our room had a private balcony. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Denis from Napa

Weekend in Finger Lakes

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
New owners George & MaryAnn have done an excellent job restoring this old beauty with much TLC.
4 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara CA

Historic House in town and close to wine trail

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Cons: WiFi.
Big, old house built in 1794. Excellent location. You can walk into downtown Penn Yan. Very easy to drive the Keuka Wine Trail from here. Our room was spacious and clean. Nice amenities like wine glasses, cork screws and cookies! Breakfast was plentiful but the taste was just OK. WiFi was a problem. We travel to sell a product and like to take breathers in nice places. It is important for us to be able to spend 1/2 hour a day connected to the internet to be sure our next stops will be successful. The Wagener has a sign in their lobby that says "If you want high-speed internet why are you at the lake?" Fair enough. They don't think we should connect at all. No problem. Just don't advertise that you have free WiFi and we won't stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Great wine country B&B

Posted Aug 16, 2014
A wonderful first B&B experience! Katjy was friendly and helpful without neing obtrusive. Breakfast was varied each day and delicious and our room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Excellent option for relaxing getaway

Posted Aug 13, 2014
We had a great experience during our two night stay in the Catawba room. The innkeeper was beyond nice and made the most scrumptious breakfasts (including sweet and savory dishes every morning). Perfect option for couples looking for a relaxing retreat - my gf particularly enjoyed the little 'extras' like cookies every afternoon. Room was very comfortable - quite spacious, excellent A/C, no noise, great water pressure. We left thinking about the next time we wanted to visit!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location in a fun area.

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels
food was excellent, some nice details, host respected our privacy