Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fleet, Hampshire

great place to stay

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Warm welcome. Clean tidy room. Friendly staff, this pub is the centre of the village and buzzing with activity. Food was great, the diet has started now. Didn't get to meet the owners but Kate did a great job of making us welcome and looking after our needs, and all the staff were friendly and polite. Would use again if ever in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paul

Value for money

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Relaxed atmosphere, and enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
by WILLIAM

Just off the M6 on way to Keswick

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Very useful when not camping. Good food, great breakfast, warm welcome. Limited wine selection but whiskies worth a trawl.
4 out of 5
by WILLIAM

15 minutes from Penrith M6

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
I have called in here for a pint or a meal a few times when hiking in the North Lakes so I thought of it when coming down from Carlisle. It could not be handier. Warm and welcoming. Good wholesome food and beer. Room had everything I needed and more. A TV that worked properly. Free Wifi.Radiator I could adjust. Virtually no phone signal though that could be a blessing. Very comfy, full English breakfast. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely pub with great food and drink selection, room a good size though only a shower available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stopover on route to Scotland

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Old fashioned very dog friendly inn with wholesome food and exceptional cooked breakfast. Lovely village in beautiful countryside.
Cons: Old fashioned and a little tired but very clean room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Excellent breakfast, traditional pub with rooms.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: n/a
Location: Good for getting to Lakes attractions but far enough out to be very peaceful
Easy going nice staff in traditional pub setting. Good location for the Lakes away from the crowds. Breakfast was first rate.
4 out of 5
by Glen from MK

Good pub with great food that does rooms.

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Good pub with great food that does rooms. Nothing fancy but comfortable and friendly staff
3 out of 5
by Matthew from Little Weighton

Very friendly pub with helpful staff

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
The Boot and Shoe is a friendly pub, with very comfy beds and an incredibly clean bathroom. Not the poshest ambience, but it is a pub, not a 4* hotel. We asked for early breakfast on a Sunday and got the full cooked breakfast when we were only expecting continental. And it was very quick as well. All the things that matter were done really well, we will be happy to go back next year.