Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good facility but rude staff

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Check-in was horrible due to staff. Gave us a wrong room. No apology. Blamed us and Expedia because of booking through Expedia. I still remember the name of staff. Mariah. She said."You. Call Expedia. Don't ask me". I've never met the rudest hotel staff like her in my life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

We love this place.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Amenities, accommodations, location, everything we enjoy on vacation all at one place.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: We enjoyed the beach, pools, kayaking, fishing bayside (caught redfish and grilled on our balcony). Local restaurants great &we visited Ft. Pickens.
This is 4th time we've stayed at the Portofino but the fist time in almost 9 years. Still Awesome! The accommodations, the amenities, the staff were all excellent! We look forward to our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Wonderful resort with full amenities and wonderful water views. Condos were spacious and clean. Food at the restaurants on site was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to be our guests recently! We are so glad you had such a great experience and certainly look forward to having you back to enjoy more of the activities we are proud to offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Strange decor a long way from the beach

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The room decor was absolutely offputting. It was a Moroccan/Indian theme that does not go with a beach atmosphere. I didn't pay $3,000 for something like that. And the staff was very uniformative and rude. They did not explain anything to us like what to do with trash or at checkout. And when we called to ask them they were very rude to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson, MS

Summer Vacation

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Portofino Island Resort is a beautiful property and with excellent accommodations including indoor and outdoor pools. The staff is friendly, courteous, and helpful. The privates beach has white sand and blue water. You only need to bring your belongings, food, and sunscreen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
We are thrilled you enjoyed all of the fun activities we have on property! Thank you for choosing Portofino for your recent family getaway. It was such a pleasure to have you as guests and we are certainly looking forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Chicago, IL

Excellent and beautiful

Posted Jun 28, 2017
This place is amazing, it is perfect for anyone at any age. The staff cares for their gest, every single staff member was so nice. The room was clean, beautiful and super comfortable. It had a wonderful view. I loved that it was private. I recommend this place 100%. I simply love it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice resort with easy access to beach

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly and everything was easy access (pools, food, entertainment, beach)
Location: We didn't explore too much, but we did rent some scooters for a little bit to cruise around the island.
We were provided excellent service at every point of contact with staff. The room was in great condition and was equipped with a full kitchen. This was very helpful since we had cooked most of our meals. We stayed in Tower 3 and we were glad we were. This is the closest tower to the beach and has an amazing view of the out-land ocean. It is also right across the street from the beach chairs and umbrellas. This place was very family friendly but also friendly for adults. I'm glad we didn't encounter a sea full of drunk teenagers. The food at the resort isn't insanely priced AND our food came out quick and hot.
5 out of 5
by Karen

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
This place was awesome my only issue was I couldn't stay longer. I had two teenagers and a toddler and we all loved it. Will stay here again for sure!!!!
5 out of 5
by Donovan

Amazing Experience-Portofino Tower 3

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
We used the personal chef service through portofino. I would highly recommend Jim. He was amazing !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Perfect Vacation.

Posted May 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: I like the options that are available for relaxing. The main infinity pool, the smaller pools at each building, the indoor pool, the beach.
Cons: I would be nice if you had a small grocery store on site that offered organic items.
Location: The location is great. It is far enough away from the crowds but close enough for a quick drive to visit shopping and dining.
We booked a three bedroom condo for the last week of March. We were in Tower III and it was perfect. The view was amazing. Our children and grandchildren were with us and the vacation was truly enjoyable. The beach was a short walk, the pool outside the building was perfect for our young grandchildren. We also went to the beach and the staff was amazing. They were very attentive and extremely nice. I had stayed at Portofino for girls weekends before but this was the first family vacation and everyone loved it. We are already planning our next stay. I would highly recommend this location to anyone looking for a family friendly beach vacation.