Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

You get what you pay for...

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: proximity to the highway and a good breakfast spot
Cons: needs a renovation. Possibly the area, but a new image wouldn't hurt. It had a very illicit feeling vibe. Especially during checkin
Location: It's at the exit for Pensacola. If you are staying in Pensacola there are much better options
I was traveling from Florida to Texas, and after being behind the wheel for 8 hours I needed a break. Knowing I would only be in the hotel to sleep for 5 hours I thought it would make the most sense to chose this place. I have stayed at other Extended stays without any issues....I wish I could say the same about this particular one. Check in: I pulled into the parking lot, upon getting out and waiting in the entry way for the desk attendant- that was my first red flag. The person checking me in was very short with me until she figured out how to check me in. she tried to charge me for the room, when I had already purchased through Expedia. After figuring things out she gave me my key and turned back to doing laundry. The Room: The hotel says it's non-smoking...that's what it says, my room smelled like a chain-smokers ashtray. I can deal with the smell of a room that had been smoked in and treated, but this was just awful. It slowly permeated things, so when I woke up it's all I could smell for a few miles after I left. The linens looked mostly washed, I didn't dare take my shoes off till I got into bed(with clothes on) I was exhausted, and I had a good assumption that if I did change rooms it would not have made much of a difference. The next morning I went to shower and the drain stopper was stuck shut. Checkout: The woman checking me out was very pleasant and "tried to address my issue" but I had already received a discount through Expedia, nothing she could do...
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel. It sounds like we did not make a great first impression. I do want to apologize for not meeting every expectation while you were here. We will certainly step up our efforts so your next stay is even better. Thanks for being our guest. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon. Safe travels to Texas. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola, FL

Good location. Close to shopping and dining

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Enjoyable stay. This trip was about me!!!!! I was able to relax and have girl time without interruptionspeaking . Everything and every where I had to go was conviently located to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so happy you were comfortable here and you could enjoy some personal time at our hotel. We are also thrilled to read that our convenience to various shops and restaurants was perfect for your needs. Thank you again for staying at Extended Stay America - Pensacola - University Mall. We hope to welcome you back soon. Safe travels! Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hattiesburg, MS

Great place to get some sleep. Close to I-10

Posted Sep 8, 2016
No complaints! The room was comfortable. A better breakfast would be nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for posting a review so the future travelers can read about your pleasant experience here at Extended Stay America - Pensacola - University Mall. It is so nice to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and we are happy you were impressed with our suites and convenient location. Thank you for being our guest, and we would love to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Pet friendly
Bare minimum essentials, friendly staff, but not quite what I prefer
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It seems we missed many opportunities to make your stay great and for that we sincerely apologize. Thank you for your feedback, and we do hope that you will reconsider and stay with us again so that we may renew your trust in us. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Lobby, breakfast, room cleanliness
"lobby" was under construction and the chaos and noise was bad. Staff were outstanding but couldn't make up for finding someone else's slippers under the bed and a broken lamp by the bed and broken kitchen faucet. Maybe once the lobby is done it will be better but it's still bare bones.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under remodeling. Stay away

Posted Apr 22, 2016
The place was being remodeled. I should have been told. Had I known I wouldn't have stayed there. Boo Expedia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just needed a place to sleep on the way back to TX

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Hotel met our expectations for providing a place to sleep for one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kissimmee, FL

Near exit 13, near mall...

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: location, kitchenette, price
Location: very close to Exit 13, mall is almost across the street
i loved the location for my road trip. i liked the hotel/staff so much, i booked another night for the way home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Hood, Texas

Hotel close to Pensacola Christian College

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Central location is ideal. Front desk staff was very helpful.
Cons: Had to get fabreeze from front desk to air out my non-smoking room. It was obvious that someone had smoked in the room prior to my occupying room.
Location: Within 3 miles of Pensacola Christian College. One shopping plaza across the street from hotel and a mall within 5 miles of the hotel.
Rooms have mini-kitchens so you can prepare your own meals. Rooms have flat screen televisions, roomy bathrooms, nice furniture, and comfortable beds. Would stay there again when I am in town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los ángeles

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: The housekeepers were great.
Cons: management could do abetter job. especially keeping the hotel cleaner, etc. carpet clean, bath room.
room was filthy frig was uncleaned carpet were filthy.Outside of hotel was dirty ,cigarett butt littered the area.Before i consider staying at this hotel again some major changes will have to take place