Ratings based on 1,459 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from longview, texas

Nice hotel with character

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Have stayed several times and always enjoy this hotel! Great location....7 miles to beach, about the same to airport and shopping!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germantown, Md

Charming experience

Posted Aug 15, 2017
We had a lovely experience for our family wedding staying in this charming former train station. I have stayed in other regular nice hotels, but did not want to pass this opportunity. The staff were very nice, friendly, courteous at all times and very responsive to any and all requests we needed for my elder 86 yo mothers comfort from extra warm blanket to extra towels each day for the accessible bathroom. The room was very comfortable and suit our needs perfectly for our stay. We had to inquire about the inroom refrigerator and did not initially know that it is hiding in plain sight so to speak behind a false door on the large dresser. I enjoyed some quiet alone time in the downstairs library near the lovely fountain and coffee trolley. We did hear the whistle of a couple of trains here and there a night or two only momentarily but not every night. It was part of the overall charm of our lovely stay. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did! God bless.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BOSTON, MA

Room Service

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Placed a few orders and they forgot to bring what I ordered. Forgot utensils for 3. Breakfast waffle was cold. Really needs improvement. No matter how busy you get you have to make sure peoples orders are correct. Especially room service orders. When paying a tax and tip, there should be NO error in a customers order.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

one of the best

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: The history behind it and the bed was long enough for me.
Cons: The trains at night was a little loud .
Location: The hotel was central to everything good location.
I enjoyed the room the staff and it was close to down town and the beaches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenner ,La

Good

Posted Jul 27, 2017
It was very nice and pleasant rooms were very clean comfortable bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel with History!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: the room and the history
We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel.The room was very clean and well maintained. The hotel itself is older and has a rich history! We appreciated the helpfulness and friendliness of the hotel staff and we will stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel, The staff keep me coming back!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Outstanding staff. Historical surrounding.
Cons: Will soon be time for an update.
Location: Dharma Blue is walking distance and delicious for a romantic evening!
Always happy to arrive at this hotel, it is easy to imagine the hustle bustle of activity when it was a train station because the original and renovated surroundings are charming. It is a comfortable space where everyone can feel welcome and is welcomed by an outstanding staff. The minute we entered we were greeted with a friendly genuine smile. Every hotel should have a Bica, she is a true treasure, everything you would want your first impression to be. She set the tone for a wonderful stay with her professional, kind, smart, knowledgeable, sweet disposition. The room had everything we needed and was clean. Ours had coffee maker and fridge and we wanted for not a thing! The only negative about our room is I think it will soon be time for some updates because although functional, clean and nice, it may be leaning towards dated. (brass faucets and lights). Really didn't matter because we thoroughly enjoyed that brass hardware! Thank you for another wonderful stay and YES, we will be back! Love the fresh popcorn in the bar and microwave outside the restaurant. The library is a nice touch. We just love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Very comfortable room, great room service and amazing view of the city!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston tx

Back in time

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Beautiful with so much history and old decor. A real treat after traveling. Felt safe since there were so many military members staying here. Nice updated rooms with a touch of America's past. A one of a kind experience! Would like to go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Old hotel charging updated prices

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Located downtown Pensacola, looking at antiques within the hotel but nothing more! for their prices, no breakfast included in stay.
Cons: Expand the size of the rooms to accommodate the furniture. Deodorize the lobby area frequently, smells OLD! Clean the carpet, it is FILTHY
Location: Pensacola Beach is just across the bridge from the hotel location, plenty of nice restaurant's nearby but hotel restaurant is no 5 star.
This hotel located in the heart of downtown Pensacola is a joke, charging updated prices for an outdated old smelling hotel. Our view from the fourth floor was a joke looking towards the gulf all we could see was the top of the roof from the original structure. Apparently preserving the original roof was a big deal in hotel renovation. I would have preferred to look at cars passing along on the street than look at the top of a old roof blocking a perfect view of the gulf. I was totally disappointed with the room as well, small and tight. Great crown molding, but that doesn't matter when you are on a quick vacation trip.