Ratings based on 967 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pensacola

Posted Dec 12, 2017
We were only here one night. We live in Pensacola and just wanted to bar crawl without having to worry about driving. We loved it!!! Cute rooms with perfect walking distance to all the fun stuff downtown!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Mark B , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad you chose to stay with us and hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from panama city

Seeing a show? Stay here!

Posted Dec 9, 2017
The perfect place to stay when coming to Pensacola for a show at Vinyl Music Hall! Within walking distance. Hotel staff very nice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by tom from sole', Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the glowing review. Come back and stay with us anytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Location was awesome, room was adequate , staff was friendly and helpful. Happy hour going on when we checked in with complementary beer, wine, and snacks was a nice surprise. The bed was a little on the hard side for my taste and the bathroom had a strong "cleaner" smell that dissipated a little bit after we arrived. Neither one of these things were bothersome enough to worry about. We will definitely be back when we need an overnight stay in downtown Pensacola.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by tomfromsole, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write this review. We are so happy you liked us, and we would love to have you back anytime. Next time you make your reservation just ask for a room with a softer bed, and we will do our best to make that happen. It is hard to get the softness of the bed just right for everyone, but we do have beds on the softer side. Again, thanks for the great review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham, al

Great location

Posted Nov 13, 2017
This hotel was a great location for what we wanted to do. The bathroom was not great and had a weird smell. It was the handicap room,but the tub tile was bad. Kind of gross. We only stayed one night, so other than that it was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by tomfromsole, Hotel Management
Thank you Christy for your review, we truly value the input we receive from our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and better than chain hotels

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Staff, decor, upgraded room
Cons: bathroom small, windows can't be opened. Could use a few more plants around parking lot or a large green space and less asphalt.
Right on the edge of the historic distance and a direct 10 minute drive to beach. This independently run hotel is much better than similar chain hotels. The staff is great and upgraded us to a wonderful room with nice decor (don't know how the standard rooms are). The breakfast is the usual packaged stuff at this rank of hotel but not too bad. There is no pool (usually too small to swim in in any case), but instead a nice seating area with a fountain to drown out the street noise. The bathroom was a bit small and one could not open the windows, but otherwise this is a great choice for Pensacola - which is a great town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by tomfromsole, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write us this review. We love getting the feedback from our guests. Come back anytime.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pensacola

Pensacola

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Staff was extremely nice when we checked in. We went straight to our room and it seemed fine until we saw the bathroom. The shower was nasty and we had to wear flip flops to shower. When my daughter took a shower there was a roach on the shower curtain. Toothpaste and soap stains on the mirror. Did not feel clean at all. Did not bring it to hote staff attention because we were only staying one night and what was the point. If they don't know the bathroom is dirty I don't think pointing it out would have helped. Will not recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by tomfromsole, Hotel Management
Thank you for the input, we value each and every review. Our goal is to provide excellent service and a great experience to every guest. We would love to have you back, and show you that this type of thing is very strange and not typical.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice Stay

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Overall good stay with very friendly staff. Toilet ran constantly and the sink faucet was loose but was no big deal to us. A/c wouldn’t cool but kept us cool enough. Clean room with comfortable bed. I would stay here again!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by tomfromsole, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. We are sorry you had those issues. We are master toilet fixers and AC repairmen, and could have fixed your issues, but we are glad you enjoyed Sole', and come back and see us soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown destination

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: The location is perfect if you want to hang out downtown.
Cons: cut down on the air freshener in the lobby! Cleanliness of bathrooms before guests arrive can DEFINITELY improve.
Location: Market place on Sat am just steps away. Parks nearby to walk in. Sidewalks make it easy roam around downtown.
In Pensacola for a small wedding. Wanted to stay downtown to experience the "revitalization of downtown". Picked this hotel for its location and because it stated it was renovated/updated. I liked the fact they had 24hr check in (NOT! They had a person sitting at the lobby desk 24hrs) however, when we got there at 11:30 they told us we couldn't check in until 3:00. When I showed the lady at the front desk the website info that stated 24HOUR CHECK IN, she said "no, that means there's someone in the office 24hrs" and, of course, our room wasn't ready. Couldn't find that detail on their website. Theres also apparently different rates, so call ahead...also, out on the website. Location and ease to walk downtown streets was perfect. Unfortunately the remodel job on the room we were in was not good...Rusted door frames, poor dry wall repairs, toilet seat that slid to the side every time I sat on it. The bed was comfy, though too big for the small size of the room it was in. The small fridge was adequate. The computer monitor for a TV was disappointing. There was an attempt for a nice vibe outside in the courtyard but I never saw anyone sitting out there. Parking was available but we, unfortunately, got the first floor room next to the lobby so there was plenty of car lock beeps and door slams to be heard. I liked the 11:00pm "noise curfew", which I had to acknowledge by signing a piece of paper regarding it, but they didn't enforce it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by tomfromsole, Hotel Management
We did renovate this hotel extensively. This hotel was built in the 1950s and most people love the style of our hotel. 24 hour check-in refers to you can check in 24 hours a day (ex. late check-ins) ,but check-in is guaranteed by 3pm day of arrival, due to guests leaving from the day before, and the room still has to be serviced. If you would have had a reservation for the day before or your room was available we would have been glad to check you in. It is simply a matter of someone was still in your room, and you didn't have that time reserved. We do offer a discount for Military, AAA, AARP, and Wedding groups. That is the price variance you may be referring to. We can't catch all of the noise, but we will put a stop to it as soon as we find out about it. Sorry you had less than a pleasurable experience, but thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, because it is our goal to please each and every guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Great boutique hotel. Loved the happy hour and continental breakfast. Will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by tomfromsole, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review, and come see us again as soon as possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlestown, IN

comfortable

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: beds
Cons: room decor dated
Rooms are comfortable and very economical. Front desk customer service was excellent, rooms are have dated decor but overall workable. The centrally location to downtown Pensacola was excellent for our needs.