Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very convenient for our needs.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: We were visiting friends in the area for a birthday party.
Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and the room was a delight. Bedroom was very comfortable and clean. Could have done with a larger bed and television. Overall very acceptable and good value.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2017 on Hotels
Good overnight stay - everything I needed and a lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Well worth the long trip to St Just

Posted Nov 24, 2017 on Hotels
Pretty much perfect in every way but in particular breakfasts were excellent, evening meals very good and staff excellent. St Just as a whole needs winter trade and it is great to see the Commercial leading the way.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham


Posted Nov 23, 2017
Stayed here in room 2 for three nights mid November. The room was clean and the bed comfy. The only downside, it was too hot in the room (even with the heating low) so we had to open the window and, as we were at the front of the property, were woken up a few times due to noise. The staff were friendly and breakfast was delicious. We also ate here one night. The food was lovely but we did eat towards the end of service and felt a little forgotten about towards the end of the evening. Would definitely recommend a stay here and if in the area, would return
5 out of 5
by Tony

Very good

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
Really like this place, Very good breakfast with top quality ingredients, and well presented. Stay regularly.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Benson, UK

A warm welcome in west Cornwall

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: A character-full hotel with great staff and providing good value for money.
Cons: Offering assistance to carry luggage upstairs on arrival. Providing information on likely waiting times for evening meals.
Location: St Just is a perfect base for exploring the coastline either side of Land's End with opportunities for walking, horse riding, bird-watching etc,
We had not stayed at the Commercial Hotel before so were not sure what to expect. After a stay of 12 nights, we are planning to go back next year! The room was very acceptable and kept spotless and the staff were very pleasant.All in all very good value for money. We greatly appreciated the breakfasts with a very good menu and excellent service. Evening meals took rather a long time to arrive because of the popularity of the hotel with non-residents as well as residents. A couple of points are worth making: first there is no car parking at the hotel so we used the free public car park about a 5 minute walk away. Second the stairs are unusually steep, especially between the first and second floors. It would be sensible to ask for assistance, especially with luggage, if climbing stairs gives visitors any problems.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penryn

Short and very sweet!

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly, professional service.
Cons: The only thing that is not perfect is parking, but there is nothing the hotel can do to change this. Public car park near by which I used.
Location: The Wild West of Cornwall! Wonderful walking and heritage sites.
I only booked my room a couple of days before I stayed at the Commercial Hotel. I was given a warm welcome on arrival and found my small single room to be perfect for my needs. Both the room and the small shower room were extremely clean and sanitised. The quality of everything - from bedding to toilet rolls were of high quality - my first impression was good, and nothing happened during my stay to detract from this initial delight. I ate in the lounge bar that evening - excellent for both food and service. Breakfast was equally pleasing. I read somewhere that the hotel had been in the same family for a long time. The feeling of a tried and tested product certainly shines through. I would not hesitate to stay here again - in fact, I think I will be looking for an excuse to visit the St Just area to be a guest at the Commercial once again.
5 out of 5
by Richard

A great find.

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
One of the cleanest and well equipped hotel we've been into for ages. Meals were delicious and when we couldn't get a taxi to the airport the proprietor took us in their car! Great
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex UK

Hotel in centre of town.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Location: Hotel is close to Cape Cornwall and Land's End in one direction and Penzance and St Michael's Mount in the other.
Central hotel with restaurant and bar facilities. Friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast. Parking has to be in local car park which is about 150 yards from hotel. It is free, which is good.
5 out of 5
by Maura

Must stay here

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, food fantastic, stafff excellent