Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2018
Nice hotel situated in the village square. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The bathroom was huge and even had a heated towel rail. Included breakfast was also good. Would definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a nice hotel to stay in

Posted May 7, 2018
The room was extreme small, very musty & had poor facilities. It was not in Penzance, which wevGoogled, but 26 miles away in St James. The staff were friendly & the Breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Posted Feb 25, 2018 on Ebookers
Very friendly staff. Uncrowded bar. Good evening meal. Very comfortable room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2018 on Hotels
Room a bit small,had to sit on the bed or lie down to watch TV.comfy bed,big breakfast plenty of tea and toast.to many stairs to our room.next time hope for one closer to ground floor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Job!

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Just a one nighter for my family at a fantastically good value rate that included breakfast. Rooms were fine, staff all nice and friendly, with "no problem" sort of answers to questions. Lovely beer. nice breakfast, a few friendly locals. sort of what you want eh? Tried all four pubs over the course of two days. I preferred this one. Really decent unpretentious pub doing a great job.
4 out of 5
by graham

OK for a night.

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff and comfortable room but a lot of noise from other rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hungary HU

Great location hotel in ST Just

Posted Aug 20, 2017
This hotel was very welcoming from the minute we entered, there was many people there but was serve and checked in fast. The introduction to the hotel and room was explained clearly, breakfast was better than expected! great hotel with great staff!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Suitable but nothing to rave about

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Cons: Bathroom build. Add outside light in passage to rooms (side of pub).
Location: Can help - rained all day so did nothing!
Reasonable pub. Omnipresent (in Cornwall) St. Austell's beers. I didn't try bar food. It looked okay to me; good pub grub, not trying to be anything else. I went elsewhere because I wanted somewhere that did local fish meal (not battered!). The only thing I would question is to why there is a daytime and evening menu; both laminated; similar meals; and exactly the same price where meals were the same (ie no primium for eating in the evening). Breakfast was okay. Nothing special. Not great ingredients - but I've had a lot worse. There was that myterious sytle of lowrent sausage that only seems to appear in B & B breakfasts; it looked particularly uninviting as it looked deep fried. Not sure beans were big brand. Mushrooms (fresh and good portion) okay. Bacon okay. Hash brown included which was a good addition. Also tomato included which I didn't have. Bedroom was okay, but not award winning. Quite reasonable size though. Cheap low bed, propped up on extra "stilts". Bathroom was terrible looking. Not unclean but it looked like it had be thrown in the room in a spare day. I am not a great diy-er but I could have done a better job with one hand. Tileing/grouting/spacing was bad. The bath surround dividing tile and bath was unattached because it was too high. Shower was mixer on bath. I managed to get good showers (which made a mess of room because screen was badly fitted) but it looked the type that would change temperature if anyone within a 5 mile radius flushed a toilet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Pre Wedding Day

Posted May 28, 2017
We found the accommodation just right for what we wanted. Just for the one night. We were greeted in a friendly manner with everything explained to us. The room had been newly decorated. The price was reasonable, it included a full English breakfast. There was plenty of choice for breakfast even if you didn't want the full English breakfast. All the staff were friendly and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Nice little traditional country style hotel in St

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Big Bathroom!! Comfy Bed!
Cons: Liven up the breakfast staff a bit, but they're also busy, so again, no real complaints.
Location: You're in Cornwall - with all the fun that comes on offer!
Positives - ->Warm and friendly staff - responded promptly when we spoke in regards a late check in. -> Nice welcoming and quiet room with a very comfy bed -> When they said "Big Bathroom" - they meant it!! It was I think the biggest bathroom we'd ever seen. -> Parking was easy to get organised (but I recommend checking with the staff to ensure you park in the right place -> Cracking little coffee shop downstairs Neutrals -> Breakfast was a bit of a random event (difficult to attract attention, and took a bit to get our food arranged) - but once it showed up it was awesome Negatives -> No real negatives. Conclusion: -> We'd stay there again.