Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not really four star

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Nice grounds and building but lots of facilities not working. Pool closed in need of repairs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

It was nice but not the rate of 4 star hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
No kettle or coffee in the room as it was expected in 4 star hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

One of the worst hotels we've stayed in

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The grounds were beautiful, but that was it.
Cons: The AC, the hotel staff, having food and drinks available 24/7
AC didn't work in either of 2 the rooms we reserved, and it was over 100 degrees outside. They moved us to 2 different rooms when we pointed it out. In one room the AC worked better, but it didn't work in ours, they said they didn't have any other rooms. It was miserable! Especially the bathroom, my makeup melted in there. They overcharged us for one of the rooms and then said they didn't know how to fix it, when I asked for a manager she said there wasn't one. We can't seem to get the bill corrected now, even Expedia is trying for us. There was no place to get any food when we got there in the afternoon, not until 7:30PM when the restaurant opened for dinner. They closed the beautiful pool at 7:30 too, we only found that out when we tried to go down there for a swim after dinner and the gate was locked. Also, there was no way to get any coffee before 7:00 in the morning. Since I couldn't sleep I was up early walking around outside where it was cooler and all I wanted was a cup of coffee. All the people at the front desk were so unfriendly, so unhelpful. We originally had reservations at a different hotel (AC Firenze) to begin with but changed it so we would be closer to the airport. BIG mistake! And it cost us 34 Euros to get to the airport, our friends who did stay at the AC Firenze, miles further away, only paid 22 Euros for the airport ride. On the Stanley's website it said they had minibars in every room, and room service, there was neither of those things.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Horrible stay, one of our worsts.

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The grounds were beautiful, pool was beautiful, but we couldn't use it.
Cons: The staff, the rooms need working AC, there should be more access to food and coffee (put coffee pots in the room if you have to)
AC didn't work in either of the rooms we reserved, and it was over 100 degrees outside. They moved us to 2 different rooms when we pointed it out. In one room the AC worked better, but it didn't work in ours, they said they didn't have any other rooms. It was miserable! Especially the bathroom, my makeup actually melted in there. They overcharged us for one of the rooms and then said they didn't know how to fix it, when I asked for a manager she said there wasn't one. I don't know how to get the bill corrected now. There was no place to get any food when we got there in the afternoon, not until 7:30PM when the restaurant opened for dinner. They closed the beautiful pool at 7:30 too, we only found that out when we tried to go down there for a swim after dinner and the gate was locked. Also, there was no way to get any coffee before 7:00 in the morning. Since I couldn't sleep because the room was so hot, I was up early walking around outside where it was cooler, and all I wanted was a cup of coffee, but no. The people at the front desk were so unfriendly, so unhelpful. We originally had reservations at a different hotel (AC Firenze) to begin with but changed it so we would be closer to the airport. BIG mistake! Honestly, one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. For out last night in beautiful Italy, this left a bad taste. I do have more details, but there's not enough space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful garden hotel.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pleasant hotel and beautiful garden. Very helpful and friendly staff. Like to stay next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Old villa turned into hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Good helpful staff,very good breakfast.all in pleasant grounds
Cons: Decor could do with bit of tidy up
Location: On the outskirts of Florence, 20 minute by train to centre, some good shops and eating places in sesto within 10 minute walk
Very good staff nice pool area, old world charm bit worn but just adds to the ambience. Lovely grounds to sit in under shade of trees. A popular wedding venue, popular with Japanese couples getting married
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The hotel setting
Cons:
Very nice hotel. I should have booked one more night, to be able to enjoy the pool and the areas of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by Molly from Manchester

Review Hotel Villa Stanley Italy

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely stay, quite far from Florence town centre but lovely stay. Very traditional and pleasant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Sandra from California

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels
Not a four star. Old beds and linens. Pool unclean. Gardens unkempt. No screens or ac. Mosquitos galore. Left/cancelled after one night to villa 500 Firenze.