Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Nice to have a swimming pool to chill out by. The water was cold this time of year but I enjoyed a couple of swims. It was nice to stay here in the setting and the history of the place was very interesting. It was once a very glamorous place. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our beds were very lumpy and uncomfortable. Was a bit far out of the city and not not a lot of local restaurants and bars but easy to get out in to the countryside or after a 20 minute walk to the station it's just a short train journey into the city. There was no assistance available at the station to know which platform to use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire England.

Villa Villoresi

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: It was so old and full of history.
Cons: The garden is not pristine, it could be maintained better but it is huge and would need an army of gardeners. As it is it is rustic not overgrown.
Location: Outside of Florence, 30 euro's by taxi to Florence. Local shops to buy food & drink and coffee shops within a few hundred yards.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very old villa. At the time of our stay it was very quiet at times it seemed we were the only guests so we had the beautiful swimming pool to ourselves most days. This ancient villa has been opened as a hotel and is a family run concern it has a fascinating history going back hundreds of years. It is set in large gardens with fruit trees some growing in huge pots. The owner and staff we met were very friendly and looked after us extremely well. The villa itself is situated outside Florence, it is about a 30 Euro taxi ride from the railway station or the airport. It is definitely a place I would like to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from italy

Authentic Italian food T bone with grilled veggies

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Very unique experience Will recommend To anyone If you like historic and real tuncany Villa , it's amazing experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Cristina, Hotel Management
Many thanks!! Hope to see you again! Cristina Villoresi
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

... UNIQUE

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Funky spooky place. Disorganized check in, VERY challenging to find.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exc. service but property didn't meet expectations

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
The property is a huge mansion built in the 15th century and has grand proportions, but is tired and in need of restoration. Location was not easy to find. There was us and two friends of ours occupying a 2nd guest room so the place felt somewhat deserted. Our room and attached bath (shower, no tub) was clean. Service was excellent. The 4 of us were the only diners in the restaurant and they accomodated our request for dinner at 6pm (an hour earlier than their 7pm opening time). The next morning, we got up very late because of jetlag and time zone change, and had missed the breakfast time of 7 - 10. But when we got up, they told us that they had set aside breakfast for us and served it to us in the restaurant. Staff was very friendly and helpful. On balance, we gave it a low rating because we were expecting a luxurious, romantic setting (judging by their photos on their website) and were disappointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth every penny

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful villa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel, unique experience

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Staying here is an unique experience. We booked a standard room, but when we saw the superior/deluxe rooms, we decided to upgrade. These rooms are amazing with incredible paintings and vintage furniture. We got the feeling of travelling back in time while staying there. The building is actually 1000 years old and there is so much history in the walls here. The front desk lady was very friendly and helpful. We also got to meet the owner, an elderly lady who stops by in the evenings. Do not expect a 5 star hotel, the breakfast was poor and the waiter reminded us a bit of Manuel from Fawlty Towers. The charge extra for the eggs at breakfast and the drinks in the bar were a bit overpriced. The hotel could need some renovation and the garden had not been watered in some while. However, if you are willing to see through the fingers in these matters, you will have a memorable and fantastic stay here.
5 out of 5
by Raymond from Beaver pa

a hidden Itallian treasure

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
this villa may be a little hard to find w/o gps but is worth the trouble once inside this 900+ year old villa is fantastic the whole facility is just beautiful. gardens could use a little tlc but are great fruit trees rose bushes the swimming pool very clean food at restaurant was also very good, breakfast could use a little help. all in all just great
4 out of 5
by Robert from Dursley, Gloucestershire

Villoresi Stop off for MotoGP

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
We found this hotel when looking for hotels local to Mugello race circuit as all the very close hotels and b&b's were fully booked months in advance. It's a bit further out than I would of wanted from Mugello as it was 35km and 45min drive but none the less it was a great hotel steeped with history. A 12th century family house with beautiful views of tree lined hills in the background. The main hallway is something else! The main attraction was onsite parking and out of town as we were in a hire car and If damaged you get a hefty fine so nice for the car to be off the busy city centre streets like other recommend hotels in near by Firenze (aka Florence) The staff are very friendly and all spoke better English than I do Italian which always helps. I can't comment on food or drink as I didn't get to sample it with getting up early and coming home late from the MotoGP. But I only heard good things from others staying there. Rooms were fairly basic and bathroom was small but overall it was clean enough and I'm just happy to get my head down at night. The halls are very echoey so if you have noisy guests you can get woken up. The owner Christina was an absolute star! Couldn't do enough for us even when we wanted to check out at 4am! She even made us a super strong tasty espresso to keep us going before setting off.