Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good food and lovely water sports

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Setting, food water activity
Cons: Rooms need refurbishment
Hotel is very good, watersports mostly inclusive...surfing, waterskying....etc. rooms need refurbishment, are still ok but just.. food buffet was very good as well, beach nice, sunset glorious
4 out of 5
by Kim

Merville Beach Experience

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Generally good.....food on occasion average. Bar cocktails very disappointing. Reception staff and Concierge Zaid excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Great location with shops, restaurants and beaches very close bt, good food, great price for buffet, free sports activities are a big plus!! Hotel however has not been renovated in a very long time and wifi is a headache :/ but a good choice overall!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely 3-day honeymoon stay

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here for 3 days of our honeymoon and loved it! We were upgraded to a sea-view room and also given a bottle of sparkling wine, sarong, t-shirt and free honeymoon dinner, which were all lovely touches. The room was large and bright, bathroom fixtures are a bit old, but we didn't mind. The beach was small and had beautiful crystal blue water. We typically found loungers under an umbrella, though it did look more difficult to find in the afternoon. We did on occasion wear water shoes which made it more comfortable. Snorkelling trip out for free was nice and we saw lovely fish. Food was plentiful and decent. Tips: Watersports offered are excellent - even waterskiing is free, (other hotels offer it for a fee). They even do lessons for the various water sports. The rooms further away from the main building near restaurant look much nicer (even without a seaview). Overall we had a great stay and would both recommend it and stay here again! We actually preferred this beach and the water sports offered at Merville much more than the beach at a resort we stayed in afterwards in flic-en-flac.
5 out of 5
by Gareth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very enjoyable.would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for holiday in mauritious
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Good location next to beach

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Renew chairs on balcony instead of painting them and same with bath which was painted too but looked messy
Location: Close to Grand Baie for catamaran trips and shops and restaurants.
10-15 mins walk from Grand Baie, various restaurants to choose from. Hotel is dated but clean. Room kept very clean too and spacious. Staff could be more interested in their work. Breakfast good. Excellent water sports included are:- kayaking, sailing, glass bottom boat trip, snorkelling and water skiing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from moscow

Beach hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Best location , old equipment. very friendly staff, but slow waiters
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Hospitable staff, excellent beach

Posted Jan 8, 2017
This is a superb hotel in a beautiful setting. The staff went out of their way to help and the waterfront facilities were plentiful and free from snorkeling trips to the reef to kayaking and wake boarding. Fine view from our room, good food especially with the bed and breakfast option. Very well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Ebookers
Excellent staff & service. Great facilities & inclusive water sports. Very comfortable & professionally run hotel. They make a great effort to make the guests feel special & at home during christmas. Highly recommend! Unfortunatley the downside was the buffet , (excluding the breakfast which was fine with good quality breads & pastries )& some of the items on the menu where also poorly executed.