Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beautiful views

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: good size room and bath. 300 year old building with modern additions. Old world charm with modern amenities.
Nice quiet hotel with nice grounds and easy gated parking. Beautiful views from the tiny balcony. Modern bathroom with heated floor. Nice breakfast buffet. Very quiet when we stayed in late September. Lovely restaurant il Caminetto just a two minute walk up the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane WA

Everything great but location too far from town

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Gorgeous setting and beautiful views. Spacious well appointed room. Staff was fabulous when they were around.
Cons: A bit more attention to the possibilities of the breakfast buffet.
Location: Nearby was nothing, only the views. You had to walk down or take a taxi or drive to Varenna.
Only after arriving did we find out that we needed to have a car to be there. I couldn't agree more. 45 minutes to walk down to Varenna and always had to take taxi to return. The fact that there was no one there between 5 PM and 11 AM was disconcerting. It has only three rooms rented out and when we were there only two were occupied, ours and one other couple. Breakfast buffet is laid out the day before so it doesn't contain fresh items.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great views of Lake Como

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Great hotel located up the hill. Great restaurant just a short walk up the road in Gittana. Because of the narrow winding road to the lake we took a cab recommend by the hotel to get back & forth to town & the ferry. Good breakfast & hotel staff were extremely accomodating about our flight being very delayed.
3 out of 5
by Patricia from Canada

Misleading Advertising

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Extremely DISAPPOINTED that the advertised 5 minute walk to a restaurant was full and no other restaurants are nearby. Apparently guests are expected to pre-reserve well in advance but no mention is made of this requirement. This is why we chose this hotel as we knew our arrival would be at the end of a long day of driving (9- 11 hours). While the lone front desk person did her best and arranged for us to have pizza delivered to the hotel, this was not the romantic dinner we had planned on. Finding the hotel without a GPS is also next to impossible!
5 out of 5
by Po Wah from Hong Kong

Will come again

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
- the Hotel lady was very nice for our late arrival, of course with prior phone call notice. - the route off the main road to the hotel is a real good driving experience - the hotel room is clean and nice with a breath-taking view over Lake Como - the room is clean and large - breakfast is just good enough as a good start of the day Definitely will come again and stay a bit longer next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by jurcsi from budapest

Very nice place to have a quite getaway.

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed 2 nights, ode day for business and one extra for leisure. The hotel is nicely tucked away from the main road and is very quiet with magnificent view. Although make sure you arrive with a small(isch) car, as the road twisting up to the hotel is very narrow with lots of hairpins. The room was nice and clean and very spacious. There was complimentary fruits and soft drinks in the room which is a very nice touch. The internet speed was good enough (work for one day). Breakfast is also nice and enough, although can be repetitive if you are staying longer. The first night I was the only guest, while next day an other couple arrived. With this in mind you have to know that in low season it is not sure that any staff will be at the hotel if there is no planned checkin or checkout. There is also a small Crotto (cave) down, where you can buy from of the pre-selected wines, bier or cakes. What would be good to add: the bathroom was big enough to have a bathtub as well. Also it is a shame that they had to close the restaurant, as there is no way you can have a dinner here, so you will need to go down to the town.
5 out of 5
by B mangiardi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Hackwood from Hexham, UK

Great place on Lake Como.

Posted Jun 28, 2012
Pros: Location, meals and service.
Location: Great views over Como.
Elevated position with wonderful, views over the lake. This is really a restaurant with only three bedrooms, all very comfortable, hence very friendly and attentive service. The food is excellent and of high quality with a selection of local wines.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TOKYO

Nice view,but the hospitality is very poor.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Only viewing.
Staff is terrible.No response against our requirements and questions. P rice is too expensive.Almost no service. We cancelled the one night. I recommend you not to stay.