Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great views of Lake Como

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Great hotel located up the hill. Great restaurant just a short walk up the road in Gittana. Because of the narrow winding road to the lake we took a cab recommend by the hotel to get back & forth to town & the ferry. Good breakfast & hotel staff were extremely accomodating about our flight being very delayed.
3 out of 5
by Patricia from Canada

Misleading Advertising

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Extremely DISAPPOINTED that the advertised 5 minute walk to a restaurant was full and no other restaurants are nearby. Apparently guests are expected to pre-reserve well in advance but no mention is made of this requirement. This is why we chose this hotel as we knew our arrival would be at the end of a long day of driving (9- 11 hours). While the lone front desk person did her best and arranged for us to have pizza delivered to the hotel, this was not the romantic dinner we had planned on. Finding the hotel without a GPS is also next to impossible!
5 out of 5
by Marko from espoo

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
What a view to alps !
5 out of 5
by Steinar from Tønsberg, Norway

Relaxing days near Varenna, Perledo.

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic experience to stay for a few days in an old, beatyfully restored Cantina (which it was called back in time). There are 3 good size rooms, all with magnificent view to Lago di Como just North of Varenna, viewing down on the village of Bellano marina and public beach. The hotel is restored with a Ristorane which has capacity for quite a few People. The restorant is open only for special events. Good breakfast included, as well as the minibar/room content. The staff was very Nice and helpful. The road leading from the main road along the Lago di Como up to the hotel is rarrow and curvy, 8-9 curves (180 Deg. Access would be difficlult by a large car. All in all a very pleasant stay with visits to the beautiful Varenna, and ferry to Menaggio and Belaggio.
5 out of 5
by Po Wah from Hong Kong

Will come again

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
- the Hotel lady was very nice for our late arrival, of course with prior phone call notice. - the route off the main road to the hotel is a real good driving experience - the hotel room is clean and nice with a breath-taking view over Lake Como - the room is clean and large - breakfast is just good enough as a good start of the day Definitely will come again and stay a bit longer next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by jurcsi from budapest

Very nice place to have a quite getaway.

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed 2 nights, ode day for business and one extra for leisure. The hotel is nicely tucked away from the main road and is very quiet with magnificent view. Although make sure you arrive with a small(isch) car, as the road twisting up to the hotel is very narrow with lots of hairpins. The room was nice and clean and very spacious. There was complimentary fruits and soft drinks in the room which is a very nice touch. The internet speed was good enough (work for one day). Breakfast is also nice and enough, although can be repetitive if you are staying longer. The first night I was the only guest, while next day an other couple arrived. With this in mind you have to know that in low season it is not sure that any staff will be at the hotel if there is no planned checkin or checkout. There is also a small Crotto (cave) down, where you can buy from of the pre-selected wines, bier or cakes. What would be good to add: the bathroom was big enough to have a bathtub as well. Also it is a shame that they had to close the restaurant, as there is no way you can have a dinner here, so you will need to go down to the town.
5 out of 5
by B mangiardi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Hackwood from Hexham, UK

Great place on Lake Como.

Posted Jun 28, 2012
Pros: Location, meals and service.
Location: Great views over Como.
Elevated position with wonderful, views over the lake. This is really a restaurant with only three bedrooms, all very comfortable, hence very friendly and attentive service. The food is excellent and of high quality with a selection of local wines.