Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

a local treasure - nice change from chain hotels

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Beautiful and welcoming change from the chain hotels. Great restaurant. Quiet, beautiful rooms. Spa downstairs. Souveniers available for purchase.
Cons: The cookies that are set out were like hockey pucks - they should probably be cooked for a shorter time or changed more frequently.
Location: Only stayed one night, for business - didn't have time to check out things to do.
The hotel is architecturally amazing, with it's arts and crafts design and furnishings. The rooms are comfortable, inviting, and clean, with spa-quality toiletries.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never Enjoyed an Historic Hotel More!

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Stopped here at the last minute to cut a long drive in half ... would have probably stayed in Des Moines, but this historic hotel in nearby Perry, IA, caught our eye. What a great hotel! Every room is decorated in a different, unique theme--all of it updated beautifully while retaining *all* its historic charm. There was a great restaurant on site with a fantastic special, a library (that's right!), and other features we didn't have time to take advantage of (like a spa and two-lane bowling alley). I would so absolutely stay here again--in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Feels like at home in a Frank Lloyd Wright museum

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very lovely decor and unique style for each tasteful room. Boutique atmosphere in lobby, library, conference and dining areas. Historic local memorabilia throughout hotel. A grand experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mid west trip

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
thought this was a neat place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waco

A great hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: I loved the fact that each room has a deferent theme
Cons: Very little parking at hotel added parking across the street not a big deal
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

An absolute must stay!

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely the most impressive hotel we have stayed in. Atmosphere was incredible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Hotel Patee

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: its rustic charm and the fantastic art collection. I loved the fresh baked cookies in the morning conveniently located right on each floor
Cons: my room had a strange smell when i first entered it. You got used to it but it was noticable when first entering
Location: explore the down town of Perry Iowa. Many charming shops
We had a great stay at the hotel. It was huge. The amenities were great. Restaurant, library, bowling alley, Spa - all great
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Goleta, CA

Magnificent, memorable hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
This place is truly wonderful. Every room is customized around a theme. Wonderful vintage charm with modern conveniences and touch. Great staff, and every square foot of the place has atmosphere and a thoughtful touch behind it. This hotel really is a destination, not just a stop-over on the way somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moline, IL

Fantastic Hotel in the middle of Iowa close biking

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The beautiful decorated rooms and wonderful restaurant. It would be great for a wedding reception, family reunion, or business retreat.
Cons: Some of the staff were starting that day and were a little slow with checkin and checkout. It is a relaxed atmosphere.
Location: Biking trails, shopping, and a beautiful Iowa town.
My friends decided that we would stay at the Hotel Pattee in Perry, because it was close to the High Trestle Trail and the Raccoon Valley Trail. This is one fantastic, historic hotel. It reminds me of the Strater Hotel in Durango, CO. There is beautiful woodwork throughout the hotel and it's 40 rooms all have themes. Initially we were booked into the Coal Mine Company room, which was beautifully decorated with mining lights for lamps and tweed bed spreads. When I found out there was a Marching Band room (being a retired band director), I had to have it. The bed's back board was made out of 8 different band instruments, including a glockenspiel, saxophones, and trumpets. The lamps were flutes with drums as the shades and were held up by baritone bells. The details in the room were amazing. We got to see about 10 different rooms (e.g., Louis Armstrong Suite, Japanese, Swedish, Native American, RAGBRAI, King's Daughter's, and others. They were all gorgeous and decorated with wonderful details. The bar was excellent. The Milwaukee Road restaurant (railroad themed) had fabulous food. It even had a metal door from a train car as the entrance. The shopping around the hotel was also cool and the trailhead for the Raccoon Valley Trail is right across the street from the hotel. The trails are all concrete bike paths with no car traffic. The High Trestle trailhead is about 8 miles away in Woodward. There are over 100 miles of trails associated with the Raccoon. High Highly recommend!