Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Scottish character hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, good meals.
Cons: As mentioned, refurb plus extra attention to cleaning. For example a towel was left in our room from the previous guest.
Location: Right opposite the Blair Castle, and nice woodland walks eg Killiecrankie nearby.
We enjoyed our stay, breakfast was hearty and staff attentive in dining room. However, there was no one at reception on check out, until the breakfast waitress who spoke almost no English, took our key. Generally the hotel has atmosphere, but needs a refurb - with lots of annoying fire doors on the stairway and worn carpets.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: The bar and restaurant are really good. We eat and drunk two times there because it was so good.
Cons: The hotel needs a renovation.
The bar and restaurant are really good. We eat and drunk two times there because it was so good. The breakfast could be better but was ok. The rooms are ok, but the whole hotel needs a renovation in the next years.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Quiet Hotel is a lovely areaT

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Most things
Cons: Without major alterations nothing really
Location: Enough to see if you look hard enough?
This hotel is a nice place to stay but surprised by the cramped conditions in the bathroom?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Outer Hebrides

Old fashioned Hotel

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: It was what I was looking for in Scotland
Cons: There could be more staff in the Dinning Room - the only lady on duty the night I stayed was rushed.....but coped well!!!
Location: Lovely location - with Blaire Athol castle and gardens just opposite ........lots of historical places to visit just a short ride away!!!
This old fashioned quant hotel is what you think of when in Scotland!!! The staff are helpful and go about their work with a smile!! Roaring fires in all public rooms! But if you want modern facilities and all the mod cons...........then book in to the Holiday Inn....... this hotel has history and I really enjoyed my stay!!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, terrible bed!!!

Posted Apr 18, 2016
I had upgraded our room while booking and was told we were getting a superior room. I dread to think what the bed would have been like prior to upgrade!!!! We were there for our wedding anniversary and were given two single beds that had been shoved together so sleeping anywhere near my husband either involved us both on one single bed or one of us on the join in between, it was awful. I had a better sleep the previous night in our tent!!!!!!!! The hotel is dated and a bit dull but the staff were really nice and the whole place was very accommodating for our dog as well. Not really sure if we'd go back but as the only hotel in Blair Atholl you're not really spoilt for choice
5 out of 5
by Mhairi from Leeds

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Highly recommend the area and definitely visit Bruar Falls and the House of Bruar
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff were excellent and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Colin from East kilbride

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyable time. Hotel staff helpful and friendly. Had a comfortable stay