Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fife


Posted Oct 23, 2016
Booked 4 rooms for after a small wedding reception, staff behind the bar could not be bothered and getting us a drink was an inconvenience, man doing the breakfast was brilliant however which made up for it! Had flowers delivered from work colleagues as a surprise and hotel hadn't told me so came to work on Monday absolutely mortified when they thought I wasn't grateful. Over £700 on rooms u expect a higher standard and expect to be made to feel welcome
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Fantastic staff A1 all the way we will be back.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Everything what more can I say.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel sits on a small hilltop with the most stunning views with nearly 50 acres of stunning gardens and woods.
We had a disabled room with queen sized bed huge walk in bathroom great views. My guide dog loved it loads of land to explore and lovely walks. Staff are friendly and will do all they can to make your stay memorable. Food is excellent .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zeer prettig hotel met uitstekende service.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Fantastische ligging
Location: Zeer veel wandelroutes in de omgeving
Fantastische service en prachtige ligging. Voor wandelaars de perfecte uitvalsbasis om de mooiste routes te lopen. Bedden prima en heerlijk ontbijt
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dormir dans un palace

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Le confort et le personnel chaleureux.
Location: Près d'un beau village.
L'accueil à l'hôtel a été accueillant et chaleureux, pas du tout guindé. Nous avons beaucoup apprécié. Le site est enchanteur, à l'écart d'un village pittoresque.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

family room?

Posted Aug 28, 2016
We paid £269 for the smallest family room ever. The room was clean but the window mechanism didn't work. This meant that to cool the boiling room we had to place the bin to wedge it open. The room was very small and should of apparently allowed 4 to sleep in there. The bathroom was old and dated though the shower had excellent pressure. The toilet seat was able to slide around as it was not properly fixed to the toilet. We were then kept awake by the noise of wedding disco. Overall I feel this was very expensive mistake. The food and the staff were all good but this did not make up for being crammed into a hobbit family room with my 6ft2 broad husband and 10yr old.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel very well placed to enjoy mountains.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Excellent stay. Staff very welcoming. Museum showing history of hotel was fascinating and well done. Room was very comfortable. Evening meal (sea bass) very tasty.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wester

Impressive old but well-appointed hotel.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: It's classic appointments
Cons: Larger, faster lift
Location: Perthshire is in the very heart of Scotland and close to many wonderful places to visit
One of the best hotels of its type I have stayed in. I would recommend it to anyone who likes style and traditional quality, such a welcome change from chrome and marble. Will certainly stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, Restaurant bit like Butlins.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Location.
Location: great for Hydro dam power station and fish ladder.
Good location, Restaurant bit like Butlins. Nice room, en-suite floor plan not thought out. New decor good. Shame scaffold for chimney repairs spoil great views.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So. Cal., USA

Beautiful location

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Beautiful building, beautiful setting.
Cons: Dining room staff was a little surly. They may be understaffed/overworked, as we saw dinner staff again at breakfast.
Location: Shopping, sightseeing
We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and quaint nearby shopping. While the location was stunning, the staff (particularly dining room) seemed to be focused on tour groups, rather than individuals. Some updates were underway in public places, so appearances were somewhat impacted. (Carpets torn up, but no active work seen taking place.)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great outside not inside

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The position and the garden
Cons: Cleaner rooms
Location: Distillery visit
Beautiful building but not so great rooms. Very disappointing the behavior of the staff at the hotel's restaurant.