Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great food and service

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: The food
Location: Relax in the country.
This is a very nice hotel in a lovely setting. The dinner in the hotel is superb. gourmet quality, and reasonable wine prices. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Great service

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Remote piece and quiet
Cons: Stay as it is
Location: Scone palace
A great break for getting away from it all and good food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kilmarnock

Historic Mansion Hotel, on the banks of the Tay

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Food and service were impeccable
Cons: Plumbing in the river facing first floor bedroom was old, but in character and still doing the job. However water flow to the bath was slow
Location: Fishing, shooting and golfing heaven!!
Situated on a large, forested estate on the banks of the River Tay, Ballathie House not only has a fascinating history but has set standards of food and service which are outstanding. Food and wine are both to the highest standard in quality and service; not cheap but nevertheless good value because of the quality. For a relaxing stay in restful, tasteful surroundings, this cannot be beaten. There are three types of room available: 1) In the main building you will find rooms overlooking the river on one side and the estate on the other. These rooms are in keeping with the age of the hotel, but modernised. The mild negative is old fashioned plumbing - but it still works! And the lack of a lift to the only floor with bedrooms is a disappointment. Having said that, the stairway is gentle and you find a lovely private lounge at the top, off which are situated the bedrooms 2) 200 yards away are the Sportsman's rooms. These are modern, low level and quite large with all normal accessories 3) Nearby, on the river bank, is the Riverside block. These are very modern, each with a view of the river and a balcony, with a lift to the first floor The five course dinner uses local produce where possible(really it does!!) with a leaning towards game and very fresh fish. Imagination and flair are evident, with pleasurable experience guaranteed on each dish. As an aside, the staff were very vigilant and helpful with my wife's dietary requirements. Go, and enjoy great food in a special place
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Although I only stayed one night it was a great stay, so good i have booked again. Well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A room with a spectacular view

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: All good.Long walks around the grounds.
Cons: Hard to think of anything.
Location: Found a pretty restaurant with pub food nearby. The Uisgh in Murthly, 3 miles away.
This is our fifth stay. We always request Riverview, first floor as all rooms have a small verandah overlooking the River Tay. An ever changing vista,dependent on the time of day and the weather. We love it and make full use. Room is comfy. Really good breakfast, with friendly staff. Food is really good. However, we don't eat there every night as is expensive. Great for a special occasions. Would like to see some 'everyday' food to widen choice
5 out of 5
by Alan

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay from Christmas Eve to Boxing Day food was fabulous and the staff were ultrafriendly. We really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Was a really nice stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
It was a very charming location. We had simple bar food, sandwiches and enjoyed the evening and the next morning, walking along the river with the fish jumping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scottish gem

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel on the banks of the river Tay. Everyone was helpfuland welcoming. The breakfast was great and all other meals ar the hotel were excellent. Our room was large and had a wonderful view. The perfect hotel for a visit to Scotland.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful and relaxing and amazing food. Thank you Ballathie!