Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Great hotel near to town centre

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Lovely and quiet
Cons: Nothing for us
Location: Loads to do and a walk into town to explore was great fun
Had a lovely stay here always lovely staff and excellent food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Not far from centre

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Comfortable hotel, only a hop on the bus 5 minutes to centre or 15 minute walk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near Glasgow

Value for money short stay hotel.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Situation of hotel. Pleasant, helpful staff. Food good.
Cons: Small double room booked which was adequate, but had large skylight instead of window. Floorboards a bit creaky.
Location: Near town centre 15 minutes walk. Dewar'scentre 5 minutes walk away.
Lovat hotel was clean and comfortable. We booked a small cosy room and it was just that - in fact a bit overheated I would say. Room was nice and quiet and near town centre and short walk from Dewar's Centre, which was good for us where we were watching bowls tournament. Breakfasts were extremely good with lots of choice of fruit/ cereals/pastries etc. from buffet, followed by toast, tea and cooked breakfast again with many choices, and served on hot plates!! Dinners were good (new chef apparently) and reasonably priced. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Selection of popular magazines in lobby for reading in room. Free parking. Altogether a pleasant stay at a reasonable price. Signs of refurbishment (i.e. decoration) taking place currently. Good Christmas packages on offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Changes made to my booking.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Very good parking facilities. Quiet, clean bedroom.
Cons: There were any number of changes made to our room booking prior or to our arrival. This was disappointing as it was our anniversary weekend. We eventually got a room that we'd originally requested but the hassle and uncertainty caused was enough to raise doubts and tainted our opinion. This is unfortunate as I believe some of the staff I dealt with (Chachie? + others ) really did try the best to resolve.
Location: Good location, easy reach of town centre and good access to visit other local towns.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Tired hotel/bedroom

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Cons: Most things!
Visited Perth to attend funeral - checked in 29th August - 2 nights - £162 incl. breakfast (2). Lovat House Hotel was 'local' to the person who had died - indeed the Lovat was patronage by them many times over the years. We have stayed at the Lovat in the past. This time we were very disappointed! Bedroom - dated. Door did not secure lock from inside ( had to use chain). Door handle on wardrobe came off in my hand - had to screw back on. Carpet was ancient. Bed was uncomfortable - bed base covering frayed - bed felt damp. Ensuite bathroom floor had holes below floor covering - bath was scratched and slippery - shower holder went every way but the way it should. Breakfast was not great - not worth the £10 charge if not inclusive - bit greasy. This hotel is badly in need of updating - yet not reflected in the prices being charged. Others attending the funeral stayed at Premier Inn, New County Hotel, Travelodge, etc - no complaints and cheaper!!! Advised receptionist on leaving that we thought this was the worst room we had ever been in - (and we have stayed in many). He said refurbishment was planned. Staff pleasant. Spent little time in the hotel, and did not complain immediately, as our stay was was limited and we were stressed with the circumstances of funeral, etc.. Best Western feedback status 4 star?? - Expedia 3.6?? - Official 3 star?? - in our experience should be no more than 2 star at best. Will NEVER go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, needs major refurbishment

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Very dated but clean room. Ordered desert at the restaurant- small piece of luke-warm, not very tasty chocolate cake at the price of £5.50 was the worst experience during our stay. The breakfast in the morning has made it up- very tasty, good variety and good service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, California

NIce hotel for Perthshire Exploring

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location, ambiance.
Cons: WIFI
Location: Scone Palace, the city itself, the nearby river, outdoor drives and walks.
We enjoyed the ease with which we got to, and stayed at Best Western Loavat Hotel. Parking was a breeze, and the hotel was near all the nearby sights we wanted to visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from notts , uk

Mattress thin and lumpy

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Good choice of food well cooked. Lovely thin batter on the fish.
Cons: New good quality mattresses, training on how to wash dishes
Location: In the suburbs with good link to main roads west of Perth.
Very uncomfortable bed, mattress was old , thin and lumpy, Springs noisy and bed base creaked. No excuse for such a poor quality bed. Woke with backache and feeling tired. Breakfast crockery had not been washed properly and had old food was sticking to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Good hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Location suitable for my business contacts.
Cons: Happy with what I received.
Location: Wasn't staying at the hotel for sight seeing.
I was away on business and this hotel suited my needs for standard, price and location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Chosen to break journey on way home from Hebrides.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Convenient location. Clean room. Friendly staff.
Cons: Due for refurbishment and modernisation.
Location: Pretty handy for the A9. Not far from supermarket and retail parks but we didn't actually go to the city centre so can't say how near that was.
This was modestly priced. The facilities were fine, except that the shower was hard to control and it fit the bill for a journey break. The staff were pleasant and friendly but the place feels a bit old fashioned and tired.