Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great surroumdings

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Beautiful hotel with plenty of off road walks along the river Tay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by PW, Hotel Management
Thank you Anonymous. Thank you for your lovely 5* review. Hope to see you again, soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leven fife

Beautiful setting

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Stayed at hotel before when it was under Hilton and it was great. It was my husbands 60th and he wanted to go back to go for walks and sit by the roaring fire and just chill. The hotel is undergoing extensive reservations but the most disappointing thing that we noticed straight away was they have moved reception and put it in front of the log fire so nobody can sit. The amount of people that complained about that one thing was unreal. People that have been going for years said they wouldn't be back. It won't stop us going back but hopefully by the time we do all the renovations will be done as we were wakened at 7 30 every morning with the noise. One more thing we went for a drink at 11pm and the bar was shut. As I say hopefully things will be better next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by PW, Hotel Management
Hi Sandra Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and rating us 4*. The roaring fire is still there, of course, just with slightly less seating. It does of course, mean that guests checking in come directly in to the heart of the hotel and we are getting lots of positive feedback about that. The £2m refurb programme will be complete in the spring, so I do hope you'll get back after that. PW
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scottish Borders

Beautiful peaceful spot, rooms a little dated

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: The surroundings, the size of our room, the evening food.
Cons: No map of site, staff didn't understand how difficult it was to find suite in the dark, building works going on but didn't interrupt stay too much.
Location: Loads of walking. Historic sites. Visit to hermitage and Pitlochry a must.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by PW, Hotel Management
Thank you, Amanda, for your review. I have suggested a layout map to our MD. Our refurb programme is almost halfway through the room stock so soon none of our rooms will look dated. Come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south ayrshire

Fantastic setting

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Great location by the river,beautiful in the Autumn sunshine
Cons: shower control,you have to push in to alter heating of water!! Crazy idea
Location: Perfect place to unwind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by PW, Hotel Management
Thank you, scott. Glad you had a restful break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Great birthday break

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Perfect location - Autumn in particular. Lovely walks and places to go for coffee and drinks.
Have visited this hotel for many years and its location is hard to beat. It is now getting some much needed refurbishment so am hopeful it will be back to nearer its former glory quite soon. The staff are excellent with special mention for Jim and Sean. Food quality was generally good - particularly the breakfast and afternoon tea. Dinner there was a lot of choice. The hotel was very kind in acknowledging it was a birthday so all and all a great birthday break.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by PW, Hotel Management
Thanks, Hilary. Come back soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Hotel with a nice riverside location

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The situation on the river Tay and the staff were friendly and attentive.
Cons: The rooms and general hotel decoration, also quite cool in the reception area and in to the bar as a hopper window above the door was wide open.
Location: Location good for walking, cycling, visiting nearby towns of Dunkeld and Pitlochry.
Our experience was about ok. Unfortunately, the shower drain was not draining properly which allowed water to go from the shower room to the room carpet. Also the tampon bin had not been emptied. The hotel bar/dining area is a bit tired and in need of a refurbishment, the food was ok, nothing special. We were told the hotel is now privately owned (formerly Hilton) and there is room refurbishment on going. The hotel situation is its best feature at the moment. Overall we were disssapointed with our experience considering the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by PW, Hotel Management
Thank you, Doug, for taking the time to write a review and I'm sorry that you were a little disappointed. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping & maintenance team. The £2m refurbishment is rolling on and soon all areas will be completed, including the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great for an Autumn break

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Pool, restaurant.
Cons: It is a little bit tired in places, but is being refurbished. There was a bit of noise from the workmen, but nothing bothersome.
Location: Lots of activities in the grounds like quad biking and clay pidgeon shooting. Dunkeld is a lovely historical town and Birnam Wood is beautiful.
We went to this hotel for an Autumn break with our 2 children. It is located on the edge of Dunkeld and has extensive grounds and beautiful walking paths down by the River Tay. The boys loved the swimming pool. Room was comfortable and service pleasant. Dinner in the evening was also very good and they allowed the boys a free dessert. On the whole, a very good visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by PW, Hotel Management
Thank you, JJ. As you say, we are mid-way through our £2m refurb which will mean that nowhere remains 'tired'. We're very excited about the changes, and hope you will come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

Relaxing break

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Lovely grounds Very relaxing!
Cons: The restaurant was very busy important to book an early table for dinner
Location: Lovely walk along River Tay Nice little village with gift shops!
Our room was lovely! Clean spacious and comfortable. The food was lovely and the service good! The staff were all friendly and well mannered! The swimming pool + spa were excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by PW, Hotel Management
Thank you, Diane. Glad you had a nice break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forres

Beautiful location and grounds

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Fantastic food, staff went out of their way to make sure my fiances needs were met due to her being gluten and dairy free. Can't wait to go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by PW, Hotel Management
Thank you, Rob. Delighted that you had a great stay and I hope you do both get back soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Biggar, Scotland

Lovely hotel but shame about the initial wait...

Posted Oct 14, 2016
We arrived earlier than the advertised check-in time because we needed to freshen up after a 3 hour drive and before the 2pm wedding which was our reason for staying. Unfortunately our room wasn't ready. Even more unfortunately they had nowhere I could put my wedding outfit and makeup on. I was sent initially to the swimming pool area but found it in a terrible state with unmentionables floating in the only toilet of the female changing room. Instead I found a baby changing area back in the main building and got ready there. It still wasn't ideal but the room was only ready AFTER the ceremony. The room itself was old and a bit tired but it was a great size and the location was spot on (just up from the marquee where the wedding reception was held). The food (especially breakfast) was delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by PW, Hotel Management
Hi VictoriaCD, Thank you for taking the time to publish a review. I am sorry that you had problems with your room, but our check-in time is at 3pm although we do try to accommodate requests if we have serviced rooms available, we can't guarantee it. That said, I'm delighted that you had a nice time. Our rooms are being refurbished as part of our £2m refurb programme which will mean that hopefully next time, you will be delighted with your room. Come back and see us soon.