Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

location great, near all bars and restaurants

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: location, staff pleasant and helpful
Cons: hotel is very tired and dated. bedrooms need upgraded
staff friendly and breakfast was lovely. room was tired and was freezing cold during our 2 nights stay. we had to ask for an electric heater. beds were so cold they felt wet
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A class act.

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Old hotel but very clean, with good food and very good staff in all areas. Will use again next time i am going through Perth.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A decent place to stay for a decent price

Posted Nov 10, 2016
It was in a great location. A great to walk through town from. The hotel bar was good, with good food. The only downside was the noise in the rooms. The floors were squeeky on my floor and the ones above. Anytime anybody came or went from other rooms it was very clear in my room. And when house keeping started in the morning it was very clear. Overall it was a good stay, but I'm glad I wasn't there too many nights.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City centre rooms since 1699.

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Historic hotel with a warm welcome, never had a complementary chocolate orange and crisps in a hotel before! Exellent food in the bar and a great breakfast in the Adam room. Would defiantly return. The only problem was no parking, but the nearby South Inch car park is good value.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traditional and comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The Salutation claims to be the oldest established hotel in Scotland and it has an aura of history and tradition.In a great location in the heart of the Fair City, close to the River Tay, it is comfortable, welcoming and certainly met all my requirements. The very reasonable price included an excellent breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Room old but clean en-suit very small dinner not good value
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If it's good enough for the Beatles, We'll stay

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
The Beatles stayed here. Nice note in the lobby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Always stay here for racing

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel - always stay there for the Races - friendly staff and a good breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired old hotel, lots of potential to be fabulous

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very dated hotel. I love old buildings but this poor hotel is badly in need of a refurbishment! Very tired decor. Very clean but looks a bit neglected. My room was a good size, but confused as to why there was a phone next to the toilet - don't want to contemplate the emergency situation where this would be necessary. Breakfast was very good, but as a single traveller I would have loved the option of breakfast in bed. Room service only available for a couple of hours at night.