Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Charming, but dated

Posted Jul 24, 2017
It's definitely a beautiful, historic hotel. We stayed in a room where I guess a lot of UK celebrities have been, and it had a huge 4-poster bed, and a window facing right out onto the city center. But it's definitely dated. The elevators are slow and creaky, toilet takes a few tries sometimes, the shower is pretty little, the floor creaks, etc. And when they say "free parking nearby" — it's a little bit of a stretch. There's a paid lot down the street, and we managed to get a free spot because it was Sunday. They're also pretty strict about the check-in time, and I didn't even see them checking if the room was maybe ready early when I asked. And the dining room for breakfast is absolutely HUGE, which detracts from the charming feel of the rest of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ayr

nice hotel,good location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: friendliness of staff
Cons: nothing
Location: the hotel is in a central location with the shops only a minute walk away and other attractions nearby
stayed at this hotel for a night, good clean hotel with friendly staff. Our room was fine, comfy beds and clean. Had a bar meal at it was very niceand there was plenty choice. The hotel has no car park as it is in the centre of Perth, but there is plenty of cheap parking within a couple of minutes walk. The only thing was we felt the bar prices were a bit steep. I would recommend this hotel to people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dorset

A hotel with historical interest.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: It is unique!
Cons: Due to the age of the building there are obvious limitations.Sound carries and and quality of sleep is dependent on other guests!
Location: In the centre of Perth on the doorstep of a good selection of shops or restful riverside walk.The Museum and Art Gallery is especially interesting.
A weekend visit to a tried and trusted hotel.This is an ancient hotel with quirkiness and creaking floorboards but seeped with interest and old fashioned elegance.The staff are attentive and the Adam Restaurant is a beautiful room in which to start the day with a scrumptious array of food for breakfast. I also booked an evening meal for my day of arrival and although almost at the end of service, the food was delicious. Situated in the centre of Perth- an excellent location .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottish Borders

Excellent stay

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Staff are very professional Central location Very clean
Cons: Our room looked a bit tired and in need of decoration
Location: Great base to travel to: Loch Leven A munro - Schehallion is close Scone is well worth a visit - walk to the obelisk and folly Golf nearby
We stayed in the Salutation several times years ago when our children were small so we had great memories of then. We decided to return last week and it did not disappoint. Great central location to visit surrounding area. Staff were courteous, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Dining staff were efficient, well-trained and helpful. Lunch and evening meals in the Reid's Bar were excellent - good value, lovely food. Free wi-fi.
5 out of 5
by fergus

great place to stay in perth

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Really enjoyable and relaxing stay. I booked a room for one night and the price was very reasonable price. Great breakfast, great staff. nice comfortable room.
4 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth £78.

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very small . No free Wifi in the room. Have to pay £5 at the reception for Wifi. Paid £78 for the room. I think £45 would have been better. Breakfast was good .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel in a not so fine area.

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel was nice, the room was nice, our view was of a delapidated building.
5 out of 5
by tony

tony in perth

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
very friendly staff very helpful nothing was any trouble. typical older Scottish hotel but its part of its character
5 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels