Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

The Royal George was an excellent hotel to stay.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: I liked the character of the hotel although old it is well maintained and the room was big with a great view of the river. Also it's very central so 2 minutes walk takes you into Perth centre.
Cons: The staff were a little quiet even standoffs. Pleasant but in no way friendly.
Location: The location was great, we're able to walk to the Imax cinema, really great little cinema. We also enjoyed a fantastic meal at the Post Box.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

last minute booking

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Nice and clean. Friendly service. Good breakfast
Location: Passing through but very central for Perth
Booked whilst driving up the A9 and needed to stop. Arrived within half an hour of booking. No problem as everything was sorted. Lovely room and as the hotel didn't cook after high tea on a Sunday we were recommended an Italian restaurant a short walk from the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was decent quality, staff were very helpful. A bit overpriced give the room was tired. 'Rubber scrambled eggs' meant I opted for cereal on day two. Wifi was advertised as super fast but was beyond frustratingly slow when available.
4 out of 5
by John from Fife

Tradition and Value

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Traditional city centre hotel with great access to shops,restaurants,concert hall etc. The hotel has character lovely views of the Tay and is good value for money.
2 out of 5
by Ken from Manchester

Try somewhere else

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Would have been a great hotel in it's time. Don't confuse period and charm for old and tired. Plastic shower curtains that stick to you when showering....really!! If staff were to smile more, you would feel more welcomed, too many people working there that just don't seem to want to be there or enjoy giving you a decent service. I stay in a lot of hotels and it's been a long time since I've been so glad to get away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Excellently situated and great character

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Well placed in the centre of town. Parking limited but we manoeuvred into a space. Comfortable rooms with updated bathrooms. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast in a bright room overlooking the river. 1 minute walk from Perth Concert Hall
3 out of 5
by Sandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Lee

Great for short stay

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Was a good hotel for a short stay, really convenient for the town centre and outside is a beautiful view. It felt abit tired and old in the room, but was definitely clean and the service from the staff was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Ilonka from Burlington, Canada

Good workout

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very elegant hotel with good service. There is no elevator and there are many steps to the rooms. This makes it very challenging for older people and travellers with heavy luggage.
2 out of 5
by Magnus from Göteborg

Daterat

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Gammalt hotell, som visserligen har en del charm, men rummen skulle behöva en uppfräschning. Det enda nyrenoverade var kaklet i badrummet. Sängen var hård och obekväm. Frukosten (och frukostpersonalen) var inte bra. Det fanns i princip bara sockerflingor och sockeryoghurt, utöver den obligatoriska engelska frukosten. Vi tog "hemgjorda" amerikanska pannkakor med bacon, som var skittorra.