Ratings based on 1,626 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Hotel in the City

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: It is in the City
Cons: Get rid of the carports, it smells! Install tiles.
The hotel is in the middle of Perth City, an exhalent location. The problem with this is the hotel do not have their own car parking facilities, this means you need to park in the street or pay to park at another hotel across the street. Pay parking for the night cost us $24.00. The hotel is clean, but ones you enter the lobby, the hotel smells because of the carpets. The trollies with the new clean linen stand in the lobbies, and do not have a specific spot. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Overall not the best decision from us to select this hotel because of the parking, but they don’t say anything about that on there website.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Criterion Hotel the Original Hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: It's old school
Cons: More sound reduction. Footsteps can be heard throughout the building.
Location: Great Location to all of the shopping district within the CBD
Ideal hotel for a short stay if you're coming in and leaving soon this place is great as it is close to all the shops within the CBD
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is basically a hostel with your own bathroom

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: it has the potential to be amazing, someone just needs to do it up
Cons: Major renovations required
Location: perfect location right on the main street of the CBD
I was expecting a beautiful art deco set up. I checked in at midnight to a dark and dinghy reception. The place is completely run down and what repairs and paint jobs that have been done are worse than inferior. Had i arrived at a different time of the day i would have left immediately. As it was i had to wait till the following morning to check out and find somewhere better. There were damp, mould, cracks, cobwebs and dirt wherever you cared to pass your gaze.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Midland West Australia

Convienience

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Just that the pricing was good & convienient to my visit
Cons:
Location: ILocation is ventral city close to shops & malls.
It was in walking distance to the venue I attended. It was close to shops in town. Also walking distance from railway station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boyup Brook, wa

Dated Hotel in center of perth

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I found this hotel very dated in need of a good make over. Even though the price to stay was good we had to spend another $40 just to park our car. I also thought it a bit much to have to pay a $100 bond as well. Beds were comfy, room was spacious but bathroom light flickered and shower kept dripping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, UK

Economical Hotel near to Market

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Great Hospitality, Location and Price.
Cons: Put sleepers in room and toilet.
Location: Nearby Sightseeing: Perth Mint, Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre, Elizabeth Quay, Swan Valley, Fremantle, AQWA (Aquarium of Western Australia).
Overall experience was great except there were no sleepers inside room and toilet. Also room was a bit small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kalgoorlie

nice hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: close to city
Cons: towel rails
Location: good
enjoyed the stay - in transit - will try & stay longer next time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Very convenient location.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Can be charming if facilities were well maintained. Found a cockroach in the bathroom and towel rack came loose upon first use. Tissue box had only 2 tissues left and I had to refill with fresh box. Security also a concern as staff gave out my room number and a friend was at my door earlier than expected. Reception should have informed or called me first and not allowed people access to room. Overall very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Central to city

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Quite and reasonable , friendly service. Would visit again. Reasonable prices
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Good for budget hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Receptionists are very helpful and friendly. Housekeeping not done on weekend and bedsheets were not changed or properly made for our 8 day stay. Convenient location n near bus line and shops. Sink water tap loose and leaking.