Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Long weekend stay

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Staff very pleasant and helpful
Cons: Just about everything. Rooms definitely need upgrading.
Location: The hotel is within easy walking distance of Perth town centre and as we were in town for a music festival it was within walking distance to all venue
The room in this hotel was worn and tired with worn furniture, holes in the bedsheets and the tile grouting was black and yet on the Mercure website, the rooms are described as contemporary, they may well have been 15 years ago. We were supplied with one shower gel, one shampoo and two small sachets of coffee in a twin room. Breakfast on the first morning was inedible however after complaining to the manager breakfast did improve on consequent mornings. Given we paid over £100 per night, it was extremely disappointing to find such low standards in what claims to be a three-star hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Staff and bar are the best part of hotel. Room was barely able to handle one person. The fan in the room was broken & clattered at night. They knew it was a problem before we booked. Could not move because hotel was booked
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meets basic needs

Posted May 15, 2017
Could use a serious renovation. You pay for what you get. Does the trick if looking for a bed and a roof over your head.
4 out of 5
by Fiona

Amazing staff!

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were amazing, my only gripe is that the hotel was way too hot!
3 out of 5
by Steven

Basic hotel. Friendly staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
This was just a stop over as we were attending a wedding in the local area. The main reason for the stay was due to the buses picking up at the hotel, I would not have chosen this hotel personally as it wasn't the bathroom wasn't cleanest and in need of a bit of refurbishment. The silicone was peeling off all around the bath and the bath tub was stained with limescale or some kind of water marks. However slightly more positive feedback is that it is in a good location as you are right in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Nice hotel. Good central location.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Good hotel, all the staff were excellent, really friendly and chatty. Room was quite dated and although comfortable was ready for a coast of paint and modernising.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Gabriella , Hotel Management
Dear Dave, thank you for your recent feedback, I am glad you liked the hotel and found the team friendly and chatty. We are looking at a refurbishment plan, but at this stage I cant confirm when it will happen. We hope to welcome you back some time. Kind regards Gabriella Maltesics General Manager
4 out of 5
by Tom

Perth visit

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is as rated, a good 3* at a good price. Staff very hospitable. Rooms rather tired. Easy access wifi. Stayed here before and will do so again. They should offer better price for breakfast, or include it in higher room rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Gabriella, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, thank you for your recent review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Gabriella Maltesics General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worn outdated expected alot better

Posted Mar 27, 2017
no TV .no hairdryer.Old shower over a bath. Not what l expected for the money l paid.Have stayed in other Mercures and expected this to be the same. I should have paid more attention to the 3 star rating.poor
3 out of 5
by David

A bit disapointed this time

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
This is the third time I have stayed here in the last 3 months, and the room I had this time was certainly tired, especially the bathroom (the bath was rusty). On arrival I asked what time the restaurant closed, I was told 21.15, but at 20.50 when I went for a meal, it was empty and advised now closed, but Bar meals were available (I would have gone to the Bar in the first place if I wanted a Bar meal). So I went to the Bar, and waited a long time for the Bar staff to arrive, but the food was actually OK . Breakfast was OK, but the waitress was very loud. I will probably try somewhere else next time I am in Perth
3 out of 5
by disappointed

noisy

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
multiple noise inhouse and externally spoiled my stay (lack of sleep)and is why I gave comfort of room a low score. The staff were very good and the breakfast was excellent.