Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bradford

Convenient Hotel for visiting in the area.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Convenient Hotel for visiting in the area. Old Hotel, but clean, good staff, and had a lovely breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kilmarnock

Good hotel with friendly staff near the centre

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Constantly running out of cooked hot food at the buffet breakfast
Location: Good location near the city centre with plenty of shops, restaurants and bars
We had a good quick check in from friendly staff. The rooms were clean, spacious and warm. The buffet breakfast was good but they were constantly running out of hot food & you had to wait for them to refill the hot plates. There was a great choice of cold and hot food for breakfast along with plenty of toast, fruit juice, tea and coffee. The hotel if very central with shops and bars within 5 minutes walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tyne and wear

good location

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: corridors could do with an update,but a big hotel, so maybe one at a time!!
Location: next to bars ,restaurants shops, and river
nice big room with everything we needed,lovely and clean, breakfast had plenty of choice,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Ideally situated for train station

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Really enjoyed an overnight stay with my daughter. Room was a little small but cosy, staff were lovely, breakfast was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to centre and train station

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Found the staff to be quite rude. My wife ran a bath but we couldn’t get cold water out of the tap to cool it down. When I went down to complain the staff members first impression was to laugh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

good for stop-over en route to northern Highlands

Posted Nov 16, 2017
I love old railway hotels and this one has loads of atmosphere even if it has been remodelled many times over the years. Best rooms are on the first floor facing the station. I can just image Queen Victoria being glad to stop-over here en route to Balmoral there's a photo in the hall to prove it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire

Old hotel but great value and lovely staff

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Great value at only £40 for the night with continental breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kilmarnock, Ayrshire

warm welcome from staff

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: easy access, included parking, warm friendly staff
Cons: rooms need some touch ups of paint etc to freshen them a bit
Location: I was at a conference but loads of restaurants near by, town centre is 10 minute walk.
I booked the hotel for one night - a twin room - due to a conference I was attending. The room was a little small and needing some touch-ups of marks and such like in walls etc. Nice offer of free water as well as tea and coffee in room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Had an included continental breakfast which was nice: selection of cereals, fruits, cold meats and cheeses, pastries, croissants and toast. Was enough to set me up for the day, but hot food is available as an extra. Would use again if I needed a quick overnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Troon

overnight stop

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: convenience, close to shops etc
Cons: The lift
Location: as above
we were on our way to Strathpeffer to visit family and decided to stopover in Perth ,and were delighted with our choicel at the station Hotel ,every thing was pleasing ,the only down side was the lift was out of order ,but we were helped with our luggage upstairs by the friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

Good location

Posted Oct 29, 2017
We stayed one night, hotel was clean but rooms and corridors could do with being redecorated as wallpaper ripped and marked. Staff were friendly and helpful.