Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford uk

romantic, unusual

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Its ancient calm and beauty.
Cons: shade at the pool
Location: Gubbio is delightful and not too far away.
This was somewhere special at the end of a long day travelling from UK. A luxury break before starting our self catering holiday. It lived up to expectations. We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food, the ambiance, the wine were all special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie, Ontario

Beautiful relaxing and tranquil!

Posted Jun 25, 2016
My wife and I had just spent a hectic two days in Venice when we came to this peaceful place with wonderful hosts. The pool was gorgeous and well maintained. We walked for hours amongst the 700 acres of trails. We left after two days wishing we could stay longer. Next time we will spend the week.
5 out of 5
by Boris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Umbria base

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
Loved our week stay. The castle and grounds are beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful and most kind. The complimentary breakfast was a fresh feast each morning and the evening dining was very good. I would urge potential clients to peruse the room selection carefully. We had some issues and as the hotel is small and full, would have made better choices. Some are more comfortable than others. One would also want an outside landscape view as it is spectacular
5 out of 5
by Megan from Naples, Italy

Castle in the Countryside

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay at Castello di Petroia! All of the staff were lovely and helpful with any request we had. The restaurant (by reservation at the front desk by the afternoon day of) was excellent. We were fortunate enough to be in residence during an "AstronItaly" event which included our evening meal and an astronomy event out by the pool in the evening. LOVELY!!! We will definitely go back to Petroia again - I actually cannot wait. Well worth the price. Pros: Location (Excellent for sightseeing in Umbria), Staff, Views of the Valley, Food, Overall Ambiance, Size of Room, Updated Bath Cons: Only con I have is the lack of A/C. We were comfortable with a fan (provided in room) but I could see that it might get uncomfortable during a very hot day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Perfect location, off the beaten track. Stunning.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Great place to stay. Welcoming, delightful staff and owner. Fantastic location in beautiful countryside. Very good meal and wines. Wish we could have stayed for longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lawrence from Montreal, QC Canada

Castello di Petroia Is A Rare Gem

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Reconverted Castle with much charm. Proximity to the various towns, areas of Umbria we had planned-out to visit. Staff!!!
Cons: We enjoy sleeping with a window open and not to use the A/C, but with no screens over the windows we could not as bugs would fly in at night.
Location: Gubbio is quaint. MonteFalco is a must for the Vinyards. Assisi of course. Deruta is a MUST for Original Italian Ceramic's. Great hills for biking.
From the moment we arrived until the day of our departure we were enthralled with the staff and everything about our stay. Staff is Absolutely Attentive to ones needs. I had taken our suitcases out of the trunk and put them near the front entranceway to the Office Lobby where my wife was greeted by the Owner. I went to park the car and upon my return found that one of the staff had "whisked" our bags to our room! The property itself is an amazing place to stay and use as a base when visiting Umbria. Besides the Castle Grounds to wander around it is still an actual working farm! We toured around Umbria for 4 days and put +2,700km on the car and were always looking forward to returning to the Castello di Petroia each evening - whether to have dinner or use the Den for Internet Service - or our room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Xiaohong

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by manuela from Geneve

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Un endroit top pour aller en couple ou en famille car au milieu d une magnifique campagne. 10km de sentiers possible pour des randonnées faciles et agréables en plein nature