Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Great, Great, Great!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great
This hotel and staff are excellent. It is located very close to the Basilica of San Francisco and 10 minutes from the Church of Santa Clara. It has a first class restaurant
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stanford

Disappointing stay

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Location is OK, but not the facility.
My room is like an igloo---low curved ceiling that looks like a cave. Only one small window with a sill right on the floor level, so you will have to kneel down to look through the window, although the view outside is fantastic, but that is due to the fact that Assisi is really a beautiful place. When I checked in the room was very hot due to the heater being on. Someone at the reception desk (who doesn't speak English well) told me the temperature control is downstairs, and I shouldn't touch the thermostat inside the room. Overall, this is not a good hotel. Maybe two stars at best, certainly not four stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great, Great, great!

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Location, parking, staff and breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Location: See experience above.
This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and they never disappoint. The location is perfect for us and they have parking! What the parking means is that you can get to the hotel and just leave the car. The upper city of Assisi is made for walking and the Hotel Fontebella is positioned in a perfect location for this. The rooms are not big, but perfectly adequate and comfortable. Bathrooms are well appointed. Many of the rooms offer a breathtaking view of the valley and countryside. The many church bells that go off continually make for a perfect soundtrack for Assisi. There is a rooster somewhere that does not operate in the same time zone, but is funny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s.p

Posted May 16, 2016
Good location, clean, nice staff. Breakfast was poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful town and perfect location!

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Hotel Fontebella was very comfortable, clean, and centrally located. I enjoyed my stay! Breakfast was also delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Well located hotel in the old town

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves good food in a restaurant with panoramic views. The three set price menus are good value.
Cons: My bank card expired between booking date & date of stay. Booking was cancelled instead of requesting other card. Phone call to Expedia resolved it.
Location: There's a good walking tour in the Rick Steves book on Italy. Good advice is to take the bus to the top of the hill walk down - much easier!
Comfortable, well located hotel with ensuite air conditioned rooms. We booked it on price and location and found it to be very good value. The rooms are air conditioned but not excessively so: it is centrally controlled but you can phone reception if you need it on for longer. There is a verify comfortable lounge next to the bar and the (included) breakfast buffet has lots of choice. The restaurant is good for dinner as well, and reasonably priced, but be careful with the wines - the selection is massive but includes lots of verify expensive wines. We asked the wine waiter to recommend something local, which he did; but when we said we didn't plan to pay 50 euro a bottle he was very happy to make an alternative suggestion, also local, that only cost 19 and which we found to be delicious. The hotel is on a steep street so take that into account if you can't walk too well but other than that it's absolutely ideally located for touring the old town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Center of Assisi.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Central location.
Cons: Facilities need some freshening. Breakfast not very good.
Location: Excellent location.
Hotel was very conveniently located in the city center. Rooms and facilities a bit old. Breakfast needs improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2015
Our room had the best view of the valley. It was spacious and super clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The peaceful town of Assisi

Posted Apr 19, 2015
The town of Assisi is a peaceful & spiritual place, it's beauty will captivate you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Expected better room in terms of size, finish and bathroomwas ridiculously small.Went down for breakfast at 9.00 a.m. and many items had run out and were not replenished. Would not stay there again or recommend.