Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and views.

Posted May 29, 2017
The hotel shows signs of age but the location is excellent with beautiful views from our room. The room was spacious and comfortable. Concierge and staff were very helpful and friendly. Wifi was not working but cellular reception excellent. Surprisingly good location for walking the beautiful town of Spoleto.
3 out of 5
by Pamela from Belfast

Hotel in a dramatic setting

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Gattapone is in a very dramatic setting at the very top of the old town , situated overlooking the Ponte de Torre and below the castle walls. The hotel is on several levels , dropping down the hillside and there are fantastic views over the valley. The staff were friendly and helpful. While attractive, the hotel needs updating, and the breakfast was limited and unimaginative.
4 out of 5
by silvia maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Melinda

Wonderful hotel on top of the world!

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at Hotel Gattapone while visiting Spoleto and found everything about it to be wonderful. The location can't be beat with its proximity to two of the biggest attractions. The views from every part of the hotel are stupendous. The staff were friendly and helpful (even helping to park the car for us). When we return to Spoleto, we will definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gem in Spoleto

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
I can't say enough good things about this hotel experience. It felt like staying at a well-maintained family run hotel. The staff was very professional and helpful from the moment of check-in until the time we departed. The room was very clean. The breakfast was better than at many of the hotels I've traveled at in Italy. The woman who made our coffee each morning had our coffee preferences memorized on the second day. The location of the hotel is spectacular. It looks out onto a gorge and a 14th century bridge that crosses the gorge. You can walk across the bridge and on hiking trails on the other side of it. I highly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Miami

Beauty in Spoleto

Posted Jul 3, 2015 on Hotels
We went back to the Gattapone 20 years later. It remains a quaint, quietly elegant hotel with stunning views from huge windows (take the slightly more costly room to enjoy it). Short walking distance from the escalator system that makes mobility in town easy. The owner and staff were charming and accommodating. It is my choice hotel in my choice town of Umbria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful Italian experience

Posted Jun 20, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was gracious in all that we asked of them, from finding a bike rental to helping procure train tickets. Spoleto and Hotel Gratapone were the highlights of our holiday.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from New York

Quiet and remote but unique beautiful views

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
A bit remote and we were there off-season, so it was empty and a bit hard to rate. But on our early departure, they had breakfast for us before hours and that seemed a good indicator
5 out of 5
by Noel from Brisbane Australia

best views in Spoleto

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels
we choose the hotel for the view and were not disappointed. The views from our room and all common areas was breathtaking. As a bonus the hotel was glamorous, the staff very friendly, the room spacious and we could park our car at no cost. We spent two days walking around Spoleto and did not see anywhere to rival this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

amazing romantic view

Posted Jan 8, 2009
Stay at the Hotel Gattapone for the most amazing view of Spoleto, being one of the most amazing views anywhere - and the gorgeous, old-fashioned rooms. One of the most romantic places I've stayed.