Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Gwen

Delightful grotta

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
This is a sweet hotel run by a delightful signora and her staff. The restaurant is quite good and the coolest part of the establishment, in a vaulted, homey spot. The location couldn't be better, right off the main piazza but through a tiny volta just out of the frenzy. We've stayed here twice and enjoyed it each time. The amenities are fewer than many other places, but it's all you need. The room was spacious, though not that warm in November, and the bathroom was plenty big. The shower was incredibly small and the curtain not long enough to keep water from saturating the entire bathroom. Otherwise, it was a lovely place to stay with warm and welcoming people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A well located hotel in the centre of the old city

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: The location was excellent and it was good value for the money.
Cons: It could provide a kettle and tea and coffee
Location: From this hotel you can visit the main sites of the old town of Assisi
The hotel is well located in the centre of the old city of Assisi just a few doors down from the church and house where Francis of Assisi was raised by his family. The hotel is above the restaurant where check in takes place. The old city and hotel can be reached by bus from the train station. The bed was comfortable and it had ensuite shower and toilet. A very pleasant experience in this.medieval town.
4 out of 5
by Monica from denver

good family hotel

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely family run hotel. Great location in the center of town. Restaurant was good. I recommend taking a cab from station as hotel is initially hard to locate
3 out of 5
by salvador from San Antonio

Small Room with Tiny Bathroom and No Breakfast

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
Although the room including the bathroom were tiny it did it's job for one night. The room we had was not soundproof and we could hear people walking outside and guests in the other rooms.The staff were friendly and the location was great even if was difficult to first locate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Beautiful and Quaint Family Hotel and Restaurant

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The price is right - much cheaper than other places near by. The location is very good.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: The former Temple of Minerva (since the middle ages Santa Maria Sopha Minerva), the town square, St. Francis's parents home, the Chiesa Nuovo, etc
I have stayed here twice and loved the hotel. First of all the location is excellent as the hotel is right off the main square in Assisi along a quaint tiny cobblestone street. The rooms are fine and very clean. I ate in the restaurant many times. The tourist menu is very economical especially compared to other places in Assisi. The staff are very helpful and the family that owns the hotel are very very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from Sylvan Lake, AB

Great location

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Great hospitality and their restaurant offers very delicious meals.
4 out of 5
by Sue from Florida, USA

Quaint

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel Grotta Antica is a good value. You have to realize this is run by a family that also runs the restaurant on the bottom floor. There is not someone to sit at the reception desk at all times. We arrived between 12-3 but were able to drop our bags in the restaurant (which was closed) until we could get checked in later. This gave us an opportunity to have a walk around Assisi a bit to get our bearings on the layout of the town. Room was cozy and clean. Was a really good value to be right in the heart of Assisi. A block or two off the main road so it was quiet enough. Our window opened onto the alley that the restaurant entrance was also on but was not a problem. It was in mid-October so not the height of the season so this might be different at other times. All in all very pleased with the experience. Keep your expectations realistic. ps...not much English spoken buy the staff but we got by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louise from Darwin NT

Family run close to the central area of Assisi

Posted Oct 2, 2013
I spent 4 nights at Grotta Antica and happily recommend it. Very close to the town centre, clean and comfortable. Very friendly and welcoming staff! Thank you :)
2 out of 5
by Sandra from New York, NY, USA

Disappoining

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: The food in the attached restaurant is not to be missed!
Location: A great location in the center of Assisi.
The location was great and staff worked hard to please, but the physical space was not comfortable. The room was dated and dim.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clara from Ashford, Kent, England

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2012
The hotel is very good,it is located in the centre of Assisi. Very small but nice. The staff were very friendly. Sadly I was not informed thatt breakfast is not included.