Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An Umbrian Gem

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a quaint hotel in a historic and lovely part of Umbria.
5 out of 5
by john from Glasgow

Gubbio

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
Unfortunately we only had 1 night in Gubbio I had possibly the best steak I have ever had the place was very frienly lots of resturants around hotel staff were very friendly only wish we had stayed longer
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston area

Great location, lots of character

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Location location location
Cons: Some of the rooms are three four flights of stairs up from the street entrance. A bit much, even with help moving the luggage!
We chose the Relais Ducale on recommendation from friends. It's in a wonderful location, with the ground-floor cafe opening right onto the main piazza of Gubbio. It has lots of character. The rooms are comfortable, the baths fully up-to-date in this historic property.
5 out of 5
by exall

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Carla and Ezio from Saba Dutch Caribbean

Nice location but the hotel was disappointing

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: The location,the historic building and the garden.
Cons: The cleaness,the bathroom and the furniture
Location: The location is perfect in the heart of Gubbio and you can visit a lot of churches and historic places
The Hotel is in need of better cleaness,the shower was clogged and the water flow was very low not only in the shower but also in the w.c. tank. Cheap furniture and the quality of the breakfast was not as expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin & Vineta from Brillion, Wisconsin USA

STAY HERE!!!

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Hotel Relais Ducale helped make our stay in Italy unforgettable! I have stayed in great places all over the world and Relais Ducale is on top. The staff was unbelievably courteous and took care of our every need. They even made all of the connections so that we were able to go paragliding and on a cave tour which we were unable to do ourselves. The accommodations are superb with a beautiful courtyard garden and spectacular food. Gubbio is a magnificent town that proved to be a fantastic location to explore the many attractions in the region. I can't say enough good about Relais Ducale. Great people! Great place! Great value! Go see for yourself...
4 out of 5
by Professor from United States

You cannot get more central than this

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels
First, Gubbio itself - one of the great gems of Italy, but seemly little known in the U.S. I should insult the town to try to keep it for myself, but that would be dishonest. The main entrance for the hotel is through a coffee bar adjacent to the medieval central piazza (both the town and the bar are used as a setting for a long running Italian television show Don Matteo which is available on Netflix). A bit of labor is involved to get luggage to a reception area several flights up - we walked up a flight of stairs (though it had a disability escalator had we chosen to use it) and then were able to take an elevator the rest of the way. The reception staff is cordial and helpful. The Duomo is nearby in one direction (steeply uphill - everything in the medieval part of Gubbio seems to be either steeply uphill or steeply downhill) with the Palazzo dei Consoli across the piazza in the opposite direction. Bells mark the quarter hour day and night, but that is part of the charm of a medieval town. Sunday morning church bells were ringing in every direction. Our room overlooked a nice courtyard, and on an earlier stay in a room higher up in a different section of the hotel we had a truly magnificent view. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing out of the ordinary for Italian hotels. There are some spectacular caverns at Frasassi about 30 mi / 50 km to the east.