Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Gubbio - beautiful medieval town on the hill

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Perfect location with two pretty terraced gardens with fabulous views. Room was nice, with old-fashioned key and a/c.
Cons: Nice breakfast - apart from the coffee! Which was awful! We had it three days running for breakfast; it was stewed and nasty.
Location: Beautiful town with loads of things to see, restaurants, market down the hill in piazza 40 martyri. Nice walks in parks and up to Basilica San Ubaldo.
Gubbio is a wonderful town and the hotel was lovely. Guidance as to parking would be helpful because of traffic restrictions and difficulty of getting near to it. I would advise against this place for less physically able and less active people unless you forewarn the hotel you need assistance. There are two lifts to help with the hill. There's not enough room in the 'what could be improved' section (!) to say that in 2 weeks travelling around Italy - which has such good coffee - the only bad coffee was at the Palais Ducale. So bizarre when everything else was good! And we drink espresso.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing view

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Amazing historical building
Cons: Better instructions on how to get to the hotel. Beds are too hard.
Location: Right at the top of the mountain village. Lovely to wander in the old town. We ate at the nearby Taverna di Lupo and had our best meal in Italy.
Wonderful old building, part of the old ducal palace. don't stay here if you don't like stairs. It feels as if you're living in a medieval palace. Lovely courtyard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston area

Great location, lots of character

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Location location location
Cons: Some of the rooms are three four flights of stairs up from the street entrance. A bit much, even with help moving the luggage!
We chose the Relais Ducale on recommendation from friends. It's in a wonderful location, with the ground-floor cafe opening right onto the main piazza of Gubbio. It has lots of character. The rooms are comfortable, the baths fully up-to-date in this historic property.
2 out of 5
by Carla and Ezio from Saba Dutch Caribbean

Nice location but the hotel was disappointing

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: The location,the historic building and the garden.
Cons: The cleaness,the bathroom and the furniture
Location: The location is perfect in the heart of Gubbio and you can visit a lot of churches and historic places
The Hotel is in need of better cleaness,the shower was clogged and the water flow was very low not only in the shower but also in the w.c. tank. Cheap furniture and the quality of the breakfast was not as expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin & Vineta from Brillion, Wisconsin USA

STAY HERE!!!

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Hotel Relais Ducale helped make our stay in Italy unforgettable! I have stayed in great places all over the world and Relais Ducale is on top. The staff was unbelievably courteous and took care of our every need. They even made all of the connections so that we were able to go paragliding and on a cave tour which we were unable to do ourselves. The accommodations are superb with a beautiful courtyard garden and spectacular food. Gubbio is a magnificent town that proved to be a fantastic location to explore the many attractions in the region. I can't say enough good about Relais Ducale. Great people! Great place! Great value! Go see for yourself...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Texas

Love this hotel.

Posted May 13, 2012
Pros: Location, Friendly Staff, great atmosphere.
Location: Excellent, in the heart of the city.
This is the only place to stay in Gubbio. The rooms are immaculate and the staff is so friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel in a beautiful city

Posted Jul 14, 2010
What a wonderful time we had in Gubbio staying at this hotel. Our room was lovely and the staff was great. They spent time with us giving us directions and special sites that we should include in our visits. We were in walking distance to great restaurants and of course, there were ceramics shops with beautiful items to purchase. The hotel had a lovely roof garden as well as a great court yard to sit and relax. We would recommend this hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Great Place to Stay in Gubbio

Posted Dec 3, 2008
The hotel staff was great. They told us where to park and a shuttle came to pick up our bags. The hills are steep so don't atempt to take your bags up the hill to the hotel. The shuttle driver was from the States. He was very nice and he didn't accept a well deserved tip. The hotel is in a great location, near all the major sites. The breakfast was very good and they have a great bar if you need an espresso or a good snack. The room was small, but it was very clean and a nice view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Richmond, North Yorkshire

Chance to stay in historic building

Posted Nov 1, 2008
Excellent location in Gubbio, our room in building at back with stone vaulted ceiling, beautiful courtyard gardens for guests use. Good breakfast, no restaurant but sister hotel & same family own restaurant (warning very expensive)but better value to be found in town.Driving in town tricky but staff collect you & take you to free parking.All staff seemed helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

hotel relais ducale

Posted Aug 11, 2008
staff very friendly and helpful.very nice hotel with good facilities.clean and well run