Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Four star?

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Good location, but a hotel that needs updating and improvement. Our room was very basic, for example only one wooden chair for the two of us to share. Hallways were dark (lightbulbs unscrewed), furniture in courtyard and lounge was worn and sometimes even broken, the common areas were either dark or untidy or both. Our AC gave out and we were given a dirty fan with one setting. Definitely needs investment. Having said that, the staff were pleasant and there is a nice courtyard. I would call this a 3-star hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Anne-Marie

Can't recommend this hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Hard to find. Reception complicated, requiring 2 elevator climb, very long walk back to common area. Parking far away from hotel, unserveyed, and awkward to reach. WiFi did not work. Room inadequately heated. Great location, probably better in summer. Staff friendly, helpful, but all in all I cannot recommend this hotel. Gubbio, however, is very much worth the visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you are driving a car...

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was a good choice if your are driving. Although you will have to check in and they will show you what to do and where to park. Staff was helpful, good recommendations on restaurants. Quiet and plenty comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Vladimir from New York

Hotel in Gubio.

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
This is a "has been" establishment, with old furnishings, and a very mediocre breakfast. Staff is super nice.
5 out of 5
by Lisa from London

Amazing location!

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
Staying at this hotel is like going back in time. It has a genuine italian feel to the decor and is in the most incredible location. Couldn't be more central to Gubbio and the surroundings make it a very special stay. Would highly recommend. Very efficient welcome-help with luggage and parking the car couldn't be faulted. A real experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect spot near the top of Gubbio, but an easy walk to everywhere in the city. Plenty of good restaurants near the end of the street on either side. Free parking nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Gubbio - beautiful medieval town on the hill

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Perfect location with two pretty terraced gardens with fabulous views. Room was nice, with old-fashioned key and a/c.
Cons: Nice breakfast - apart from the coffee! Which was awful! We had it three days running for breakfast; it was stewed and nasty.
Location: Beautiful town with loads of things to see, restaurants, market down the hill in piazza 40 martyri. Nice walks in parks and up to Basilica San Ubaldo.
Gubbio is a wonderful town and the hotel was lovely. Guidance as to parking would be helpful because of traffic restrictions and difficulty of getting near to it. I would advise against this place for less physically able and less active people unless you forewarn the hotel you need assistance. There are two lifts to help with the hill. There's not enough room in the 'what could be improved' section (!) to say that in 2 weeks travelling around Italy - which has such good coffee - the only bad coffee was at the Palais Ducale. So bizarre when everything else was good! And we drink espresso.