Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso TX

next to St. Francis Basilica

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: If you need to be close to Basilica this is perfect but you have to walk to everywhere else lots of hills look for shortcuts in between buildings
Cons: Don't know
Location: everything is close wonderful views
My reservation was cancelled because of hotel renovations and according to some reviews they where needed so hopefully it will get a good update. Old building like everything in Assisi but beautiful. You can not avoid seeing the hotel when you go to St. Francis Basilica it's that close.
5 out of 5
by Bonnie from SF Bay Area

Beautiful, hilly Assisi

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very tough hills for anyone with any mobility issues; however, perfect location to see the fabulous Duomo. No longer a restaurant in the hotel so nearest (albeit eccellent) place for dinner was agsin way uphill. A terrific bellman cheerfully brought all of our luggage down the hills to our car in the garage below. Great service!!!
4 out of 5
by Wartivar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by edward from Westfield

Pilgrims visit

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Visited Assisi to see the Brasilia. Location of hotel was exceptional for this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Near a main entrance to Assisi

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: We especially loved its location, so close to the entrance and the cathedral.
Cons: The decor is a bit tired-looking and the beds a bit uncomfortable, but overall a nice place for a few nights.
Location: The town of Assisi is very small but parking is outside the walls. The hotel was conveniently located near a large parking structure outside the wall.
The hotel is in a very nice location. Decent price. Not fancy. The breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Ideal location for St Francis Basilica

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Location to St Francis Basilica and close to the parking structure
Cons: Make sure that you request a room looking out towards the valley rather than facing the street. Lots of foot traffic and noise on that side.
Location: Beautiful views and close proximity to everything if you want to visit Assisi
Great location just inside the City walls and close walk from the main parking structure outside the walls. Easy to get to the main town square, restaurants, etc.
5 out of 5
by Ramon jose

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Keith from Boynton Beach, FL

A wonderful hotel in an incomparable location!

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
We really loved our stay at the Subasio. I stayed there in 1987 on a previous trip, so it was wonderful to be able to stay there again in the new and renovated version, the upgrades being a great improvement. The room, in spite of the typically uncomfortable Italian beds, was otherwise more than we could have hoped for, mainly because of the extraordinary terrace with views of the entire valley and the Basilica next door. It was utterly magical. The breakfast was ample and superb, and the dinner in the restaurant was good, even though the wait staff was rather confused about things. Overall, it was one of the highlights of our three weeks in Italy, and I hope to stay there again!
5 out of 5
by David from Columbus, Ohio, USA

High class hotel at a reasonable price!

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in a very good location. Easy public parking and so close to the Basilica of Saint Francis. Only there for one night, and the staff was so very nice and accommodating. We had an early departure for Florence in the morning. Because our departure time was before the breakfast hours, the hotel clerk arranged for breakfast to be delivered to our room. The server who brought it was so sweet and genuinely was pleased to serve us. I will never forget his smile. The hotel is lovely with a beautiful dining room and a large terrace that overlooks the valley below the walled city of Assisi. The hotel was perfect for our stay.