Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

in love with Hotel Umbra

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The location is perfect. But what makes this hotel are 2 things... 1. It's off the Piazza, so it's quiet and really peaceful. 2. Family run hotel, you just fall in love with this place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Superb location, friendly welcome

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly welcome, stunning views
On arrival our reaction was 'wow'. On leaving we could only think about returning to Hotel Umbra. Assisi is such a beautiful town with plenty of interest and the Hotel Umbra is perfectly situated near the centre so all the sights are easy to access on foot. It is also a short (downhill) walk from the bus stop is Piazza Matteoti. We were received with a warm welcome when we arrived and each time we returned to the hotel however, the real wow factor was the stunning view from our room. A really lovely place to stay and we hope to return soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very friendly, helpful staff

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly, helpful staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
Assisi is well worth a visit just to see the magnificent church of San Francisco with its frescoes by Giotto, Cimabue, Simone Martini and Lorenzetti. The town is a gem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Place could use updating. Such a great location could be more charming and less cheesy. Breakfast was terrible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Center of historic Assisi

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff . Location is on main piazza of town. Parking is in city lot 5-10 minutes walk away. Older hotel, however location is great with good views. Driving to hotel is complex. Recommend asking hotel to email you a route due to narrow streets and pedestrian only roads which are not apparent on Google maps
5 out of 5
by MANUEL F from Texas

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
A charming hotel with a lovely garden, family operated, with all modern conveniences. A very friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Atmospheric hotel in truely medieval setting.

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Location, ambience, comfort.
Comfortable, clean, great view in heart of medieval Assisi. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Only problem (though not really a problem for us) was very sporadic WiFi.
5 out of 5
by Mary Louise from St. Petersburg, FL

Our second visit to Assisi

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Had a nice time revisiting the town. . .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Central location
Cons: Bathroom facilities and beds!
Great central location and we had a lovely view from the bedroom. The double bed was two single beds pulled together badly which led to an unpleasant night sleep. The bathroom was very tired and not particularly clean. The shower did not drain which was unpleasant. The air conditioning/heating unit turned on during the night and was so loud we had to turn it off. Breakfast was ok. Expensive for the quality.