Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Atmospheric hotel in truely medieval setting.

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Location, ambience, comfort.
Comfortable, clean, great view in heart of medieval Assisi. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Only problem (though not really a problem for us) was very sporadic WiFi.
5 out of 5
by Mary Louise from St. Petersburg, FL

Our second visit to Assisi

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Had a nice time revisiting the town. . .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Central location
Cons: Bathroom facilities and beds!
Great central location and we had a lovely view from the bedroom. The double bed was two single beds pulled together badly which led to an unpleasant night sleep. The bathroom was very tired and not particularly clean. The shower did not drain which was unpleasant. The air conditioning/heating unit turned on during the night and was so loud we had to turn it off. Breakfast was ok. Expensive for the quality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Plain hotel with good location for seeing Assisi.

Posted Oct 4, 2015
We stayed two nights here and our experience was just ok. I appreciate the location of this hotel for wanting to see the sights in Assisi and being close to a town square where there were some good restaurant choices. The hotel itself was plain - fairly outdated decor - very nice staff - and breakfast that was marginal. I would recommend it based on ease of location and very reasonable prices.
5 out of 5
by jerry from St.Louis,Mo

Far exceeded my expectations!

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was excellent in every respect! It has the perfect ambience for a Hotel in this medieval setting. The staff were extremely courteous. The breakfast was served in an elegant dining area. I will highly recommend this to any friends or family who were going to have Assisi.
4 out of 5
by Chris from UK/USA

Great hotel, location, people

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
A very nice hotel centrally located in town. You'll need to take a 10-15 minute taxi ride up the hill from the train station. Once at the hotel you pretty much walk where ever you want to go in Assisi. The hotel is right across from the Temple of Minerva and is about a 15 minute walk from Basilica of St. Francis. I'd stay at this hotel again. We found the staff to be very friendly and the breakfast delicious. The hotel is right on a piazza so there's a number of restaurants and shops right outside. The room was large and roomy enough for two adults and two children (9, 11). The air conditioning worked find and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was roomy as well with a tub/shower combo.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, big room.

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
Location is excellent, perfect for walking anywhere. The room was very nice and very spacious and I had a great view down the hill. The people were friendly and helpful with any questions I asked. Some staff spoke English; some did not. The breakfast was not great - coffee from a self-serve machine. One strange thing was there was a lot of pigeon guano in the alleyway to the hotel - they said it was the city's fault for not keeping its promise to help. Not sure why they didn't clean it themselves. A minor thing, really, it was a nice place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent with helpful & friendly proprieters.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Very nice hotel but somewhat difficult to find at the end of a small alley. Once we located it, we found the location to be very good, just off a major square. Proprietors were helpful and friendly. Better directions would have been helpful.
4 out of 5
by Anthony from Estero, FL

Didn't want to leave!

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
It was our first trip to Assisi so we were in the blind as to where to stay. My wife did a lot of research on line and decided on Hotel Umbra. It was a great decision, we really enjoyed our stay there. The people who run it are delightful and go beyond to make sure you are comfortable there. The breakfast was not elaborate, but nice and certainly acceptable, especially with the cappuccino machine. Be ready to walk up and down a lot since Assisi was built on a steep hill. When we return to Assisi, we would definitely stay there again. Be sure and try the gelato, there are several choices nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 横浜市

非常に便利

Posted May 6, 2015
Location: 案内所にある観光要点へはほとんどが近いです。
家族的な品の良い雰囲気。窓からの風景も壁や屋根の向こうに、大きな広がりはないが落ち着いている。教えて呉れたレストランもすてきでした。